Duane Betts Releases Debut EP ‘Sketches Of American Music’

By Andy Kahn Apr 27, 2018 10:32 am PDT

Guitarist Duane Betts has issued his debut studio EP. The six-song collection Sketches Of American Music is now available to stream or download.

Betts collaborated on Sketches Of American Music with Steve Cropper, Marc Ford and Stoll Vaughan. Recording sessions were held in Nashville and Los Angeles. A video for the EP’s lead track “Taking Time” premiered via Relix. Duane explained the song to the outlet, stating:

I wrote [“Taking Time”] with my friend, Stoll Vaughan. I spent most of my life in two places, Florida and California. Both are home and both have been staples in my growth spiritually and musically. This song is that trip from Florida to Cali when you need a change. The video was shot at Stoll’s space in Los Angeles and directed by Austin Lynch.

Duane Betts’ touring schedule includes performing with the Devon Allman Project and with his father, The Allman Brothers Band co-founding guitarist Dickey Betts.

Watch the “Taking Time” video and stream the EP below:

Sketches Of American Music Tracklist

  1. Taking Time
  2. Downtown Runaround
  3. When We Get Home
  4. California Blues
  5. Think I’m Doing Well
  6. Ride It Out

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections