Dead & Company Trucks More Tour Debuts To Buffalo


Dead & Company tour continued last night at the First Niagara Center in Buffalo, where John Mayer, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann, Jeff Chimenti and Oteil Burbridge unveiled four more debuts along with a healthy dose of beloved Grateful Dead classics.

Weir fronted the band on their debut version of Chuck Berry’s “The Promised Land,” which had opened many a Grateful Dead show back in the day. Bobby stayed in the spotlight on “Minglewood,” before Mayer had his first turn on lead vocals for “Bertha.” “Here Comes Sunshine” was followed by the D&C debut of “El Paso” and the set-closing sequence of “Althea” and “U.S. Blues.”

The long-awaited Dead & Company debut of “Viola Lee Blues” kicked off the second set. John and Bobby shared vocals on the early Dead tune which segued into “Wang Dang Doodle” and back again. “New Speedway Boogie” led into the expected “Truckin'” before the verses of “Dark Star” were split by “Drums”/”Space.” Weir then led the band through the final tour debut of the evening – “China Doll” – before a raucous “Sugar Magnolia” ended the second set. Dead & Company said farewell to Buffalo with a “Casey Jones” encore. Next up for the band is a visit to Columbus on Friday night.

Watch a handful of videos shot by TheKamherst:

[Viola Lee Blues]




Set One: Promised Land, Minglewood Blues, Bertha, Here Comes Sunshine, El Paso, Althea, U.S. Blues

Set Two: Viola Lee Blues > Wang Dang Doodle > Viola Lee Blues > New Speedway Boogie > Truckin’ > Dark Star > Drums > Space > Dark Star > China Doll, Sugar Magnolia

Encore: Casey Jones

Tour Dates for
Dead & Company