David Byrne Announces Solo Album ‘American Utopia’ & Shares Single


Acclaimed musician David Byrne has detailed his forthcoming solo album American Utopia. The record will be issued on March 9 via Todomundo/Nonesuch Records and includes the lead single “Everybody’s Coming To My House.”

Recorded at Byrne’s home studio, as well as at Reservoir Studios, Oscilloscope, XL Studios and Crowdspacer Studio in New York City and in London at Livingston Studio 1, American Utopia marks the former Talking Heads frontman’s first non-collaborative solo album since 2004’s Grown Backwards. Byrne worked with longtime cohort Brian Eno, who co-wrote “Everybody’s Coming To My House,” with additional production provided by Rodaidh McDonald, Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never), Jam City, Thomas Bartlett (Doveman), Jack Peñate and others.

Byne penned a lengthy message regarding American Utopia. The full essay is available here, read below:

Is this meant ironically? Is it a joke? Do I mean this seriously? In what way? Am I referring to the past or the future? Is it personal or political?

These songs don’t describe an imaginary or possibly impossible place but rather attempt to depict the world we live in now. Many of us, I suspect, are not satisfied with that world—the world we have made for ourselves. We look around and we ask ourselves—well, does it have to be like this? Is there another way? These songs are about that looking and that asking.

This album is indirectly about those aspirational impulses. Sometimes to describe is to reveal, to see other possibilities. To ask a question is to begin the process of looking for an answer. To be descriptive is also to be prescriptive, in a way. The act of asking is a big step. The songs are sincere—the title is not ironic. The title refers not to a specific utopia, but rather to our longing, frustration, aspirations, fears, and hopes regarding what could be possible, what else is possible. The description, the discontent and the desire—I have a feeling that is what these songs touch on.

I have no prescriptions or surefire answers, but I sense that I am not the only one looking and asking, wondering and still holding onto some tiny bit of hope, unwilling to succumb entirely to despair or cynicism.

It’s not easy, but music helps. Music is a kind of model—it often tells us or points us toward how we can be.

Today’s announcement confirmed the new album will be supported by a world tour featuring a “choreographed concert that Byrne has called ‘the most ambitious show I’ve done since the shows that were filmed for Stop Making Sense.’” The announcement stated “extensive additional dates to be announced soon,” and Byrne has been added to the XPoNential Music Festival being held in Camden, New Jesey in June.

Stream “Everybody’s Coming To My House” featuring TTY, Happa Isaiah Barr, Sampha and others below:

American Utopia Tracklist

  1. I Dance Like This
  2. Gasoline And Dirty Sheets
  3. Every Day Is A Miracle
  4. Dog’s Mind
  5. This Is That
  6. It’s Not Dark Up Here
  7. Bullet
  8. Doing The Right Thing
  9. Everybody’s Coming To My House
  10. Here

Tour Dates for
David Byrne

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for David Byrne.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when David Byrne announces shows in your area.