[UPDATED] Dave Matthews Band Releases 2002 MSG Show With James Brown As ‘Live Trax 40’



  • Nov 17, 2016 • 10:10 am PST

    The Dave Matthews Band has shared a taste of Live Trax Vol. 40. Watch the “Drive In, Drive Out” that opened the band’s show at Madison Square Garden in New York City on December 21, 2002:

One of the most memorable collaborations to take place at a Dave Matthews Band concert took place on December 21, 2002 in New York City at Madison Square Garden when the group was joined by James Brown. The noteworthy concert will soon be released as Live Trax 40.

Brown and members of his backing band Soul Generals joined Dave Matthews and the group on “Get Up (I Feel Like A Sex Machine)” during the main set at the second of two sold- out DMB MSG shows. Members of Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe, including their namesake frontman, also joined Dave Matthews Band prior to The Godfather Of Soul’s sit-in and stuck around for his guest spot as well.

Here’s more from today’s announcement:

On December 21, 2002 DMB fans were treated to one of the most exciting collaborations in the band’s history – James Brown and members of his Soul Generals joined Dave Matthews Band, and members of Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe for Brown’s classic “Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine.” This incredible guest appearance shows Brown trading dance moves with Dave, and concludes an epic 25-minute funk session of “So Much To Say > Anyone Seen the Bridge? > Too Much > Get Up.” While an obvious highlight of the evening, it is not the only one. “Seek Up” features superb performances from both LeRoi Moore and Butch Taylor, while the evening’s momentous encore of “Halloween > Ants Marching” could not have closed out a multi-night, sold out run at NYC’s preeminent Madison Square Garden in better fashion.

We are pleased to revisit this legendary show in its entirety as Live Trax 40. Available as a 1 Blu-ray/2-CD set, a 1 DVD/2-CD set or a 2-CD set.

The release also features Encore Trax – 2002 Holiday Tour, a limited edition companion collection of highlights from the brief DMB December 2002 run available with pre-orders while supplies last. It features five previously unreleased bonus songs. Head here to order Live Trax 40. Today the band issued Live Trax 39 featuring their Halloweeen performance from 1998.

Live Trax 40 Tracklist

Disc 1:

  1. Drive in, Drive Out
  2. Granny
  3. Pig
  4. What Would You Say
  5. Grey Street
  6. Fool To Think
  7. Loving Wings>
  8. Where Are You Going
  9. Seek Up

Disc 1:Disc 2:

  1. Digging a Ditch
  2. All Along the Watchtower
  3. Grace Is Gone
  4. The Space Between
  5. So Much To Say>Anyone Seen the Bridge?>
  6. Too Much>
  7. Get Up (I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine
  8. Halloween
  9. Ants Marching