Release Day Pics: November 4th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Jim James, Chris Robinson Brotherhood, The Bright Light Social Hour with Israel Nash and Dave Matthews Band. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Jim James – Eternally Even

The Scoop: “I wanted to make an album that hopefully speaks to the issues of the day, many of which, sadly, are issues we have been dealing with since the beginning of time,” said My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James when announcing the follow up to his 2013 solo album Regions Of Light And Sound Of God. Taking a solidly R&B approach, James co-produced the new LP with Blake Mills who also appears on nearly every track. Acclaimed drummer Jim Keltner guests on a song and saxophonist Charlie Gabriel is featured on two tracks, while vocalist Shungudzo Kuyimba can be heard on a number of cuts as well. Check out one of the videos released for the single “Same Old Lie”:

Label: ATO Records/Capitol Records

Producer: Jim James, Blake Mills

Number Of Tracks: 9

Running Time: 41:34

Guest Musicians: Chris “Daddy” Dave, Brian Reitzell, Rob Moose, Shungudzo Kuyimba, Jim Keltner, Charlie Gabriel, David Stephen Givan, Joseph Lorge


  1. Hide in Plain Sight
  2. Same Old Lie
  3. Here In Spirit
  4. World’s Smiling Now
  5. We Ain’t Getting Any Younger Pt. 1
  6. We Ain’t Getting Any Younger Pt. 2
  7. True Nature
  8. In the Moment
  9. Eternally Even

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Chris Robinson Brotherhood – If You Lived Here, You Would Be Home By Now

The Scoop: With his days with The Black Crowes firmly behind him, Chris Robinson has spent the last few years concentrating his efforts on his latest project that aptly named Chris Robinson Brotherhood. Over the course of four full-length studio albums and relentless touring, the five-piece act has finely honed their take on Cosmic American music as modern torchbearers of psychedelic America. Earlier this year CRB released Any Way You Love, We Know How You Feel, and have followed that up with If You Lived Here, You Would Be Home By Now a five-song EP culled from the same recording sessions. Robinson describes the release as “the sonic bookend to our ‘Anyway You Love’ recording and song cycle. When we were sequencing the original album, these five songs seemed to want to hang together in their own way and tell their own little story, so they were set aside to present separately.” Give a listen to the EP’s lead track “New Cannonball Rag:”

Label: Silver Arrow Records

Producer: CRB

Number Of Tracks: 5

Running Time: 29:57

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. New Cannonball Rag
  2. Shadow Cosmos
  3. Roan County Banjo
  4. From the North Garden
  5. Sweet Sweet Lulaby

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Bright Light Social Hour and Israel Nash – Neighbors

The Scoop: It’s always great to see bands get together for to collaborate on a project. It’s even more interesting when there is a cause they are rallying around. Thus is the case with Neighbors, the new EP from Austin-based acts – The Bright Light Social Hour and Israel Nash. The Bright Light Social Hour’s Jack O’Brien describes the EP as “about having empathy for the struggles of those around us, our neighbors – specifically our neighbors to the south in Mexico, and undocumented immigrants who make up an essential part of our communities.” Recorded over the course of a week in each act’s own studio, the three-track effort fuses Nash’s psychedelic desert-folk rock with BLSH’s shimmery 1970s vibe. Give a listen to the album’s lead track “Lupita”:

Label: Escondido Creek Records

Number Of Tracks: 3

Running Time: 13:14

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Lupita
  2. Palestine
  3. The Forest

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Dave Matthews Band – Live Trax 39

The Scoop: The latest installment of Dave Matthews Band’s long running Live Trax series features the last Halloween show DMB played. On October 31, 1998 DMB visited The Arena in Oakland for a show containing plenty of jamming and a handful of guest spots. Tim Reynolds sat-in for the whole night years before he was recruited as a full-time member. Greg Howard also shared the stage with DMB for the entire show as he added the sounds of a Chapman Stick to the performance. Additionally, saxophonist Joshua Redman made his Dave Matthews Band debut. Redman added to the first “I’ll Back You Up” in 134 shows as well as “Jimi Thing.” Fans were hoping a Halloween show would mean DMB would play the song of the same name and they not disappointed. The October 31st, 1998 performance of “Halloween” was the first since the previous May, which was a span of 81 shows. Listen to “Too Much” from Live Trax 39:

Label: Self-Released

Number Of Tracks: 15

Running Time: 136:22

Guest Musicians: Tim Reynolds, Greg Howard, Joshua Redman


  1. Don’t Drink The Water
  2. Intro >
  3. Pantala Naga Pampa > Rapunzel
  4. Crush
  5. Two Step
  6. Dreaming Tree
  7. Warehouse
  8. Tripping Billies
  9. I’ll Back You Up
  10. Jimi Thing
  11. Halloween
  12. So Much To Say > Anyone Seen The Bridge? >
  13. Too Much
  14. Crash Into Me
  15. All Along The Watchtower

Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.