Circles Around The Sun Announce New Album ‘Let It Wander’ & Share Single

By Scott Bernstein Jun 14, 2018 7:43 am PDT

In 2015, guitarist Neal Casal was asked to provide music that would be played during intermission of five Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years Of Grateful Dead concerts. Casal recruited keyboardist Adam MacDougall, bassist Dan Horne and drummer Mark Levy to help record the instrumental music and the reaction to th resulting tunes was so strong they decided to continue the project known as Circles Around The Sun. Today, the quartet announced a new step with the upcoming release of Let It Wander, a double album due August 17 via Rhino.

Casal, MacDougall, Horne and Levy laid down the seven instrumentals found on the follow-up to 2015’s Interludes For The Dead in early 2018 at Castaway 7 Studios. “More than anything, what you hear on this album is a band growing into its own sound,” Casal said in a statement about Circles Around The Sun evolving past their original aim of paying homage to the spirit of the Grateful Dead.

Circles Around The Sun recruited Chuck D. of Public Enemy to contribute to the Let It Wander track “One For Chuck.” It turns out Chuck D. had visited Castaway 7 during one of CATS listening sessions. The legendary hip-hop star dug what he heard and obliged when the band asked him to record an intro.

“Immovable Object” has been selected as the lead single off Let It Wander. The nine-minute track shows the evolution of the Circles Around The Sun sound. Stream the new single “Immovable Object”:

Let It Wander will be available on limited edition vinyl, CD and digital formats.

Let It Wander Tracklist

  1. On My Mind
  2. One For Chuck
  3. Immovable Object
  4. Halicarnassus
  5. Tacoma Narrows
  6. Electric Chair (Don’t Sit There)
  7. Ticket To Helix NGC 7293

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections