Chris Robinson Brotherhood Wraps Up Fillmore Run & Announces New Year’s Run

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Dec 17, 2017 9:40 am PST

Last night Chris Robinson Brotherhood wrapped up a three-night run, which was supposed to close out the year, at their home away from home The Fillmore in San Francisco. The California-based psychedelic act treated the sold out crowd to two sets that mixed CRB originals with a diverse set covers and was capped with an encore featuring their debut performance of a song by Free. The band also had another trick up their sleeve as shortly after the show wrapped, they revealed that they would be ringing in the New Year with trio of shows at Terrapin Crossroads.

Lead singer Chris Robinson, guitarist Neal Casal, drummer Tony Leone, keyboardist Adam MacDougall, and bassist Jeff Hill began their fifth set of the run with a cover of the rockabilly song “Seven Nights To Rock,” which was originally recorded by Moon Mullican in 1956. From there, the band ran through a trio of originals kicking things off with “High Is Not The Top,” from their most recent studio effort Barefoot In The Head, continuing with the unreleased “The Chauffeur’s Daughter” and finishing up with “Tulsa Yesterday” from 2012’s Big Moon Ritual. The first frame also included covers of “Only Daddy That’ll Walk The Line,” which was originally recorded by Waylon Jennings for his 1968 album Only The Greatest and closed out the set with another rockabilly tune with Carl Perkins’ “Boppin’ The Blues.”

CRB’s final set at the legendary rock venue opened up with Roy Orbison’s “Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream),” which the band debuted earlier this year. Robinson & Co. leaned heavily on tracks from Barefoot In The Head throughout the set, offering up takes on “Hark, The Herald Hermit Speaks,” “Behold The Seer,” “She Shares My Blanket” and “Good To Know.” Robinson also reached back to his days fronting The Black Crowes for a take on “I Ain’t Hiding” from the Southern rock act’s 2009 double-album Before the Frost…Until the Freeze. The encore at The Fillmore saw Chris Robinson Brotherhood offering up their debut performance of Free’s “Guardian of the Universe,” from the English rock band’s 1972 album Free At Last.


The band will now cap their 2017 with a return to the Bay Area later this month, as they have announced a three-night stand at Phil Lesh’s Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael. Tickets will go on-sale this Monday, December 18, 10 AM PT at


Chris Robinson Brotherhood
  • Seven Nights to Rock
  • High Is Not the Top
  • The Chauffeur's Daughter
  • Tulsa Yesterday
  • Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line
  • Star or Stone
  • New Cannonball Rag
  • Boppin' the Blues
  • Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
  • Venus in Chrome
  • Hark, The Herald Hermit Speaks
  • Behold the Seer
  • She Shares My Blanket
  • Good to Know
  • Narcissus Soaking Wet
  • I Ain't Hiding
  • Rosalee
  • Guardian of the Universe
Setlist data
JamBase Collections