Car Seat Headrest Announces New Album ‘Making A Door Less Open’ & North American Tour, Shares Single


Car Seat Headrest announced a new album, Making A Door Less Open, due out on May 1 via Matador and announced a North American tour in support of the new record. CSH also shared the single, “Can’t Cool Me Down.”

The song is the first taste of Will Toledo and Car Seat Headrest’s first album of brand new music since 2016’s Teens Of Denial. But Toledo and company stayed busy during that time recording Making A Door Less Open in an innovative way. The band actually recorded the album twice: once with guitar, bass and drums and once with Midi controlled synthesized sounds. The electronic side of the album features the group 1 Trait Danger consisting of Toledo’s alternate persona, Trait, and CSH drummer Andrew Katz. The band then blended the traditional instrument recordings with the electronic to create Making A Door Less Open.

“Each track is the result of an intense battle to bring out its natural colors and transform it into a complete work,” Toledo, as Trait, said in a statement. “The songs contain elements of EDM, hip hop, futurism, doo-wop, soul, and of course rock and roll. But underneath all these things I think these may be folk songs, because they can be played and sung in many different ways, and they’re about things that are important to a lot of people: anger with society, sickness, loneliness, love…the way this album plays out is just our own interpretation of the tracks, with Andrew, Ethan [Ives] and I forming a sort of choir of contrasting natures.” Head here to read the entire statement.


Car Seat Headrest will perform material from Making The Door Less Open on their upcoming North American tour beginning at MASS MoCA on April 25 in North Adams, Massachusetts. A month later the band will pick up their tour proper in St. Paul, Minnesota on May 27 followed by a run through the Midwest with stops in Milwaukee, Chicago and Detroit. After a two-night stand in Toronto, CSH hits the Northeast with shows in Boston, a three-night run in New York as well as a concert in Philadelphia.

The tour then turns south beginning in Washington D.C. before heading to North Carolina with engagements in Raleigh and Asheville ahead of dates in Columbia, South Carolina, Atlanta and Nashville. On July 9 CSH kicks off its West Coast run beginning in Vancouver and heading down the coast with shows in Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, San Diego and Los Angeles. The tour then heads back east via Phoenix, Texas and Kansas City among others before wrapping up in Denver on July 28.

The single “Can’t Cool Me Down” arrived with a lyric video (contains flashing lights). Check it out below:


Making A Door Less Open Tracklist:

  1. Weightlifters
  2. Can’t Cool Me Down
  3. Hollywood
  4. There Must Be More Than Blood
  5. Hymn
  6. Deadlines
  7. Martin
  8. What’s With You Lately
  9. Life Worth Missing
  10. Famous