Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album With E Street Band ‘Letter To You’ & Shares Single


Bruce Springsteen assembled the E Street Band to back him on Letter To You, a new studio album set for release on October 23 via Columbia Records. Springsteen premiered the title track from his 20th studio album through a video showing The Boss and his longtime backing band at work in the studio.

The 12-track LP was recorded at Bruce’s home studio in New Jersey late last year over the course of a five-day session. “I love the emotional nature of Letter To You,” noted Springsteen. “And I love the sound of the E Street Band playing completely live in the studio, in a way we’ve never done before, and with no overdubs. We made the album in only five days, and it turned out to be one of the greatest recording experiences I’ve ever had.”

Before the sessions, The Boss hadn’t performed with the E Street Band since the end of their The River tour in 2016. Springsteen wrote nine of the songs for his follow-up to 2019’s Western Stars and also recorded “Janey Needs A Shooter,” “If I Was The Priest” and “Song For Orphans” — three previously unreleased compositions which date back to the 1970s. Ron Aniello and Bruce Springsteen co-produced Letter To You, which was mixed by Bob Clearmountain and mastered by Bob Ludwig.

Check out the “Letter To You” video below:

Letter To You Tracklist

  1. One Minute You’re Here
  2. Letter To You
  3. Burnin’ Train
  4. Janey Needs A Shooter
  5. Last Man Standing
  6. The Power Of Prayer
  7. House Of A Thousand Guitars
  8. Rainmaker
  9. If I Was The Priest
  10. Ghosts
  11. Song For Orphans
  12. I’ll See You In My Dreams

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook