Bright Eyes Confirm New Album ‘Down In The Weeds, Where The World Once Was’ & Share Single


Bright Eyes confirmed the release of their first album since 2011, Down In The Weeds, Where The World Once Was, on August 21 through Dead Oceans. The band also shared a video for the single, “Mariana Trench.”

Bright Eyes previously previewed their 10th studio album with the singles “Persona Non Grata,” “Forced Convalescence” and “One And Done.” Bright Eyes “and friends” will perform “Mariana Trench” tonight on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. The band’s last public performance was in Hawaii in November 2011.


The core trio of Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott ended a hiatus in late-2017 and began work on the new album soon after. They recorded Down In The Weeds, Where The World Once Was in their hometown of Omaha, Nebraska at ARC Studios and in Los Angeles at Capitol Studios and Electro-Vox, while backed by a rhythm section made up of bassist Flea of Red Hot Chili Peppers and drummer Jon Theodore of Queens Of The Stone Age. The writing process was more collaborative than past Bright Eyes releases, resulting in fully collaborative compositions.

“Our history and our friendship, and my trust level with them, is so complete and deep,” Oberst stated. “And I wanted it to feel as much like a three-headed monster as possible.”

Watch the video for “Mariana Trench” below:


Down In The Weeds, Where The World Once Was Tracklist

  1. Pageturner’s Rag
  2. Dance And Sing
  3. Just Once In The World
  4. Mariana Trench
  5. One and Done
  6. Pan and Broom
  7. Stairwell Song
  8. Persona Non Grata
  9. Tilt-A-Whirl
  10. Hot Car in the Sun
  11. Forced Convalescence
  12. To Death’s Heart (In Three Parts)
  13. Calais To Dover
  14. Comet Song