Brendan Bayliss & Jake Cinninger Present Annual Holiday Show


Umphrey’s McGee guitarists Brendan Bayliss and Jake Cinninger teamed up to throw their 13th annual Holiday Show last night at The Park West in Chicago. Bayliss and Cinninger were joined by their UM bandmates Joel Cummins and Andy Farag for a large swath of the single-set performance, which mixed originals, covers and holiday songs.

Jake and Brendan started the set with acoustic duo renditions of Umphrey’s originals “Similar Skin,” “Gulf Stream” and “Cut The Cable.” Farag, Cummins and pedal steel wiz Mike Racky then emerged for Bayliss’s “Susanah.” Andy and Joel stuck around for “Syncopated Strangers.” From there, Brendan and Jake treated fans to the holiday favorite “Carol Of The Bells” before bringing Andy, Joel and Mike back up for a triple dose of Led Zeppelin. (“Dancing Days,” “Bron-Yr-Aur” and “Down By The Seaside”)

Next, Bayliss moved over to piano to deliver a solo version of his own “Push And Pull” before Jake came back on drums to accompany Brendan on a cover of Elton John’s “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road.” Cummins, Farag and Racky then re-emerged, along with Wade “Wyllys” Wilby for the celebratory “Two Dips” and a take on Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid.” The set came to a close with Brendan and Jake leading Farag, Cummins and Racky on “Tempted” by Squeeze, UM’s “Comma Later” and “Weight Around” as well as “Showdown” by ELO and Ween’s “Baby Bitch.” Brendan and Jake returned for the encore with Andy, Joel and Mike. The five-piece lineup said farewell with Pat Metheny’s “Last Train Home,” UM’s “Upward” and “Black Water” by The Doobie Brothers.

Proceeds from the concert benefited People’s Music School.

Videos (Captured by PurpleUrkel79)

[Black Water]

[Goodbye Yellow Brick Road]


Setlist (via The Bort)

Set: Similar Skin > Gulf Stream, Cut the Cable, Susanah*, Syncopated Strangers**, Carol of the Bells (traditional), Dancing Days*, Bron Yr Aur*, Down by the Seaside*, Push and Pull***, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road****, Two Dips*****, Paranoid******, Tempted*, Comma Later**, Weight Around*, Showdown (Christmas lyrics)*, Baby Bitch*

Encore: Last Train Home*, Upward*, Black Water*

  • * – with Andy Farag, Joel Cummins and Mike Racky
  • ** – with Andy Farag and Joel Cummins
  • *** – Bayliss Solo
  • **** – Brendan on keys with Jake on drums
  • ***** – with Andy Farag, Joel Cummins, Mike Racky and Wade Wilby
  • ****** – same as above with Mike Racky on bass and Christmas lyrics