Bob Weir Releases ‘Only A River’ The First Single From His New Album


Grateful Dead guitarist Bob Weir recently revealed details of his new “cowboy album” titled Blue Mountain, which was written with Josh Ritter and produced by Josh Kaufman. The National’s Bryce Dessner, Aaron Dessner and Scott Devendorf are featured performers on the 12-track record. Today, NPR has shared the first single off the LP, “Only A River.”

Blue Mountain, which will be released via Columbia/Legacy on September 30, is Weir’s first solo album in over 10 years and his first album of entirely new music in over 30 years. Bobby’s new effort is said to be, “a deeply personal folk music tribute to the ranch stories and fireside songs of Bob’s youth, told new with amazing wisdom and heart.”

Weir is accompanied by a host of fellow musicians on the LP besides the Dessners and Devendorf including Ray Rizzo (drums, harmonium, harmonica, backup vocals), Joe Russo (drums), Jon Shaw (upright bass, piano), Rob Burger (keyboard, accordion, tuned percussion), Sam Cohen (electric guitar and pedal steel), Nate Martinez (guitars, harmonium, backup vocals), Jay Lane (drums, vocals), Robin Sylvester (upright bass, vocals, organ) and Steve Kimock (lap steel) as per Rolling Stone. The list of contributors mixes musicians from Weir’s RatDog band (Kimock, Lane and Sylvester) and a Furthur cohort (Russo) with indie-rockers (Dessners, Devendorf and Cohen) and veterans of the Brooklyn music scene (Shaw, Rizzo, Burger and Martinez). Brooklyn pop-trio The Bandana Splits, comprised of Annie Nero, Lauren Balthrop and Dawn Landes, provide backing vocals. Kaufman produced the record with engineering by Dan Goodwin. Blue Mountain is due September 30 and is currently available for pre-order in both CD and Digital formats with vinyl coming as well.

Blue Mountain Tracklist

  • 1. Only A River
  • 2. Cottonwood Lullaby
  • 3. Gonesville
  • 4. Lay My Lily Down
  • 5. Gallop On The Run
  • 6. Whatever Happened To Rose
  • 7. Ghost Town
  • 8. Darkest Hour
  • 9. Ki-Yi Bossie
  • 10. Storm Country
  • 11. Blue Mountain
  • 12. One More River To Cross

Tour Dates for
Bob Weir