Blanket The Homeless Announces Benefit Album & Concert

By Scott Bernstein Sep 9, 2019 1:59 pm PDT

Bay Area charity Blanket The Homeless will celebrate the release of a benefit album entitled Blanket The Homeless with a benefit concert at The Independent in San Francisco on November 7. Blanket The Homeless features 15 original songs, nearly all of which haven’t been released, from San Francisco-based artists who want to join the fight to help the city’s homelessness crisis. The LP is due out on November 8.

Marin-based producer/songwriter Scott Mickelson produced the album, which contains tracks by such artists as Fantastic Negrito, Con Brio, Rainbow Girls, Tim Bluhm, Goodnight, Texas, John Craigie and The Brothers Comatose. Mickelson worked with local musician, entrepreneur and Blanket The Homeless co-founder Ken Newman on the LP. Blanket The Homeless partners with St. Vincent de Paul Society of San Francisco, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, to deliver care packages to those living on the streets of San Francisco and publishes a resource guide that includes information on where to get free food and shelter.

“There are some great organizations working to benefit the homeless whether it be politically, socially, for better housing or other needed services,” said Scott Mickelson. “What makes Blanket The Homeless unique is that while these efforts are happening, the people who are surviving on the streets on a daily basis may not be directly benefitting. So many incredible artists contributed their time and heart to this great record, and we now can have that money filter directly into care packages that will be handed out to the community. It feels like a good way to have a positive affect with our music.”

The benefit concert, put on at The Independent in conjuction with Another Planet Entertainment features King Dream, Mickelson, Newman, members of Goodnight, Texas and special guests that will be announced at a later date. Tickets are on sale now here. Proceeds from the concert will benefit Blanket The Homeless.

Blanket The Homeless Tracklist

  1. The Stones Foxes – Million Dollar Shoes
  2. Tim Bluhm – Clean Me Up
  3. Fantastic Negrito – Working Poor
  4. Mickelson – Odd Man Out
  5. Goodnight, Texas – Someday, Somehow
  6. John Craigie – Your Sailor
  7. The Brothers Comatose – Angeline
  8. King Dream – Many Moons Ago
  9. Whiskerman – U.S.M.E.
  10. Tobias The Owl – Out Of Place
  11. Marty O’Reilly & The Old Soul Orchestra – Mad Tom of Bedlam
  12. Rainbow Girls – American Dream
  13. The Coffis Brothers – I Ain’t Living In Your World
  14. Ken Newman – We Should Do This Again
  15. Con Brio – Body Language (Live in Amsterdam)
JamBase Collections