Barry Gibb Announces Solo Album ‘Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol 1’ & Shares Single Featuring Jason Isbell

By Nate Todd Nov 6, 2020 9:59 am PST

Barry Gibb announced a new solo album, Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol 1, set for release on January 8 on Capitol Records. The Bee Gees legend also shared the lead single, “Words Of A Fool,” featuring Jason Isbell.

Gibb enlisted the help of a number of music luminaries to help him record the country-centric album including Alison Krauss, Brandi Carlile, David Rawlings, Dolly Parton, Gillian Welch, Jay Buchanan, Keith Urban, Little Big Town, Miranda Lambert, Olivia Newton-John, Sheryl Crow and Tommy Emmanuel. Additionally, Gibb tapped renowned Nashville producer Dave Cobb to helm the LP.

Barry Gibb spoke about the experience in a press release. Read his words below:

From the first day we stepped into RCA Studios in Nashville (the very place where Elvis, Willie, Waylon, Roy, the Everly Brothers and so many other legends made their magic) the album took on a life of its own. I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with Dave and all the artists who stopped by. They were all incredibly generous with their time and talent. They inspired me more than words can express. I feel deep down that Maurice and Robin would have loved this album for different reasons. I wish we could have all been together to do it…but I think we were.

“It was truly an honor to work with one of my heroes,” Cobb said. “The Bee Gees’ first album has always been a staple for me and it was surreal to get to witness the genius of Barry Gibb in the studio—he’s one of the greatest of all time!”

“Barry Gibb is one of the greatest songwriters and singers in popular music history,” Isbell added, “and I’m happy to say he still has that beautiful voice and that magical sense of melody. Working with him on this project has been one of the great honors of my career. He’s a prince.”

While Greenfields contains mostly reimaginings of Bee Gees classics, Isbell teamed up with Gibb on “Words Of A Fool,” a song that Gibb wrote for a 1986 eponymous solo album that remained unreleased, as per Rolling Stone.

Listen to Barry Gibb’s “Words Of A Fool” featuring Jason Isbell and also check out an album trailer for Greenfields below:

Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol 1 Tracklist:

  1. I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You with Keith Urban
  2. Words of a Fool with Jason Isbell
  3. Run to Me with Brandi Carlile
  4. Too Much Heaven with Alison Krauss
  5. Lonely Days with Little Big Town
  6. Words with Dolly Parton
  7. Jive Talkin’ with Miranda Lambert, Jay Buchanan
  8. How Deep Is Your Love with Tommy Emanuel, Little Big Town
  9. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart with Sheryl Crow
  10. To Love Somebody with Jay Buchanan
  11. Rest Your Love On Me with Olivia Newton-John
  12. Butterfly with Gillian Welch, David Rawlings
JamBase Collections