Alison Krauss Goes Solo For Upcoming Studio Album ‘Windy City’


Legendary vocalist Alison Krauss will issue Windy City, her debut for Columbia Records and first LP away from her band Union Station since 2007, on February 17. The 27-time Grammy Award winner carefully selected 10 songs for Windy City along with producer Buddy Cannon.

Alison selected Cannon as her producer following a session in which she recorded vocals for Jamey Johnson’s 2012 album, Living For A Song. “Usually it’s just all songs first,” Krauss said. “It was the first time I’d ever not had songs picked out, and it was just about a person.” That person was Buddy Cannon. While she had recorded with Cannon in the past, it was the session for Johnson’s album that made an impression. “That was absolutely the moment,” she said. “Wow! Buddy really makes me want to do a good job.”

Among the songs on the album are “Gentle On My Mind,” a signature song of Glen Campbell’s, and “You Don’t Know Me,” which was a hit for Eddy Arnold and Ray Cheless. There’s also Willie Nelson’s “I Never Cared For You” and “All Alone Am I,” which was originally recorded by Brenda Lee. Alison Krauss’s Windy City is currently available for pre-order here.

Listen to the album’s first single, “Losing You”:

Windy City Tracklist

  1. Losing You
  2. It’s Goodbye And So Long To You
  3. Windy City
  4. I Never Cared For You
  5. River In The Rain
  6. Dream Of Me
  7. Gentle On My Mind
  8. All Alone Am I
  9. Poison Love
  10. You Don’t Know Me

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles