Yusuf / Cat Stevens Announces New Album & Shares Single ‘See What Love Did To Me’


Renowned singer-songwriter Yusuf / Cat Stevens will issue a new album, The Laughing Apple, on Cat-O-Log Records/ Decca on September 15. The single “See What Love Did to Me” has been shared in advance of the record’s release.

The 11-track The Laughing Apple blends newly penned originals with songs written several years ago. Four of the songs – “I’m So Sleepy,” “Don’t Blame Them,” “Northern Wind (Death of Billy the Kid)” and the title track – originally appeared on Steven’s 1967 LP New Masters, while the song “You Can Do (Whatever)” was composed for the 1971 Harold And Maude film soundtrack. The new album was produced by Tea for the Tillerman and Teaser and the Firecat producer Paul Samwell-Smith.

Yusuf / Cat Stevens shared the following statement with Rolling Stone regarding The Laughing Apple lead single:

“See What Love Did to Me” is a song which extols the virtue of Love and its destructive properties. Based on a poem written by Yunus Emre, a Thirteenth Century Turkish poet, I fell upon the guitar riff back in 2006, while recording An Other Cup. It took eight years to find the right words and sentiments to marry with the joyous tune. It has musical ripples of Africa as well as India flowing through.

Watch the “See What Love Did To Me” lyric video featuring animations based on Yusuf / Cat Stevens’ original drawings:

The Laughing Apple Tracklist

  1. Blackness of the Night
  2. See What Love Did To Me
  3. The Laughing Apple
  4. Olive Hill
  5. Grandsons
  6. Mighty Peace
  7. Mary and the Little Lamb
  8. You Can Do (Whatever)!
  9. Northern Wind (Death of Billy the Kid)
  10. Don’t Blame Them
  11. I’m So Sleepy

Tour Dates for
Yusuf / Cat Stevens

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for Yusuf / Cat Stevens.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when Yusuf / Cat Stevens announces shows in your area.