Widespread Panic Releases Official Recording Of Red Rocks Debut

By Scott Bernstein Jun 16, 2017 7:39 am PDT

While Widespread Panic has taken their proverbial foot off the gas when it comes to touring, there are some traditions that are just too good to stop. Next weekend the band will return to Red Rocks in Morrison, Colorado for their annual three-night stand at the venue. In advance of the shows, the band has opened the vault to unveil an official recording of their Red Rocks debut from 1991.

Widespread Panic’s Red Rocks debut came on September 14, 1991 as part of a bill that also featured Blues Traveler and Acoustic Junction. The latest installment of the band’s Porch Songs series of two-track recordings includes the seven songs they played at Red Rocks that fateful night. Panic has since returned to the venue over 50 times with most as headliners.

Porch Songs: Red Rocks 1991 contains one song after another that remain staples through the present. Widespread kicked off their set with “Space Wrangler” and then served up “C. Brown” and “Walkin’ (For Your Love).” The performance rolled on with “Makes Sense To Me” and “Rock” before WSP offered “Proving Ground” and “Pigeons” to close. “It’s just such an amazing venue,” said bassist Dave Schools to JamBase about Red Rocks. “There have been times we’ve had rain delays, and even snow, but you think of all the other things – rainbows, the natural phenomena that occur there.”

The new release is now available for download in all digital formats and on CD.

Porch Songs Red Rocks ’91 Tracklist

  • 1. Space Wrangler [8:50]
  • 2. C. Brown [7:05]
  • 3. Walkin’ (For Your Love) [4:35]
  • 4. Makes Sense to Me [3:39]
  • 5. Rock [8:38]
  • 6. Proving Ground [7:43]
  • 7. Pigeons [7:22]

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections