Waxahatchee & Jess Williamson Form Plains, Announce Debut Album & Share Single

The duo also announced Fall 2022 North American tour dates.

By Nate Todd Jul 27, 2022 12:33 pm PDT

Singer-songwriters Katie Crutchfield (Waxahatchee) and Jess Williamson have teamed up to form a new group, Plains. The duo will release an album, I Walked With You A Ways, on October 14 via ANTI- Records and also shared the single, “Problem With It.”

Plains, which a press release described as “a one time only” and “incredibly special” collaboration, captured I Walked With You A Ways in Durham, North Carolina with renowned producer Brad Cook, who has produced Waxahatchee’s Saint Cloud and Great Thunder records. Drummer Spencer Tweedy and multi-instrumentalist Phil Cook also contributed to I Walked With You A Ways.

“I’m thrilled to announce this new project and album,” Crutchfield said. “I’ve felt a connection to Jess’ songwriting and a kinship with her since we met years ago. Getting to lean into the influence of the music we both grew up with while also making something that feels very current and fresh to me was a great experience and I’m so happy to finally share it.”

Williamson also shared her thoughts on working with Katie and more:

“Making this record with Katie was a deeply expansive experience for me as a songwriter. I really trust her ear and sensibilities, and she encouraged me to explore aspects of my songwriting that in the past I’ve shied away from. Katie’s support was so important for me as we wrote this album. We gave ourselves permission to lean into the music that raised us and write the kind of classic timeless songs that we both grew up singing along to. For me that was The Chicks and Dolly Parton, and having a place to channel those influences was an absolute blast. My hope with Plains was to tap into something Universal. I love the album we made, and I’m so excited to play it live.”

Preview Plains’ I Walked With You A Ways with the music video for “Problem With It” below:

Plains also announced plans to take the project on the road this fall. Check out their tour itinerary:

Loading band summary

I Walked With You A Ways Tracklist:

  1. Summer Sun
  2. Problem With It
  3. Line of Sight
  4. Abeline
  5. Hurricane
  6. Bellafatima
  7. Last 2 On Earth
  8. Easy
  9. No Record of Wrongs
  10. I Walked With You A Ways
JamBase Collections