Trey Anastasio Issues New Single ‘The Song’


Last month Trey Anastasio announced the upcoming release of a new album and a tour in support of the LP. Paper Wheels is due on October 30 via Rubber Jungle Records/ATO Records and today Anastasio has shared another tune from the LP – “The Song.”

Take a listen to “The Song”:

“The Song” was debuted by the Trey Anastasio Band on May 23, 2014 at Cleveland’s House Of Blues. TAB has since played “The Song” two more times. Anastasio wrote “The Song” with Steve “Dude Of Life” Pollak.

Paper Wheels is now available for pre-order at via Anastasio’s website and at Phish Dry- Goods. Here’s how the new record is described as well as info on various deluxe packages:

Produced by Anastasio and longtime collaborator Bryce Goggin, Paper Wheels was recorded last year at The Barn, the Phish founding guitarist’s Vermont farmhouse- turned-rehearsal space/recording studio. Anastasio and the members of Trey Anastasio Band (TAB) developed the material on stage while touring and at soundcheck on the tour leading up to the sessions, allowing them to track the album in just under a week. Taking a cue from the energetic immediacy of classic Stax Studio recording sessions, TAB worked fast and loose, playing together live in The Barn and wrapping up tracks after one or two takes. Written and co-written by Anastasio alongside frequent lyric partners Tom Marshall and Steve “The Dude of Life” Pollak, songs like the funk-driven “Bounce” and the elegiac “Invisible Knife” (written solely by Anastasio) are among the legendarily diverse artist’s most infectious and inventive, alive with creative vigor, robust musicianship, and true soul power (see the complete tracklisting below).

Paper Wheels features the classic TAB line up of drummer Russ Lawton, bassist Tony Markellis, and keyboardist Ray Paczkowski, augmented by a full horn section (including trombonist/vocalist Natalie Cressman, multi-instrumentalist James Casey, and longtime TAB trumpeter/vocalist Jennifer Hartswick). The album was mixed by 8x Grammy Award-winning sound engineer Elliot Scheiner (Van Morrison, Steely Dan, Derek & The Dominos).

Paper Wheels will be offered as a deluxe limited edition that will include 180 gram 45 RPM 2x LP splatter vinyl and a die cut gatefold package with six unique sleeves. Only 4,000 of these special packages will be manufactured. A CD format and t-shirt bundles are also available for pre-order.

Paper Wheels Tracklist:

  1. Sometime After Sunset
  2. The Song
  3. Never
  4. In Rounds
  5. Flying Machines
  6. Invisible Knife
  7. Lever Boy
  8. Bounce
  9. Liquid Time
  10. Paper Wheels
  11. Speak to Me
  12. Cartwheels

Tour Dates for
Trey Anastasio Band

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for Trey Anastasio Band.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when Trey Anastasio Band announces shows in your area.