The Wood Brothers Announce New Album ‘Kingdom In My Mind’ & Share Single


The Wood Brothers will release a new studio album entitled Kingdom In My Mind on January 24 via Honey Jar/Thirty Tigers. The trio shared the album’s lead track and single, “Alabaster.”

The 11-song Kingdom In My Mind was tracked during recording sessions held at the group’s new recording facility in Nashville. The trio did not intend to make a follow-up to 2018’s One Drop Of Truth, but after bassist Chris Wood reviewed the improvised recordings, he broke them up into parts that became the songs on the record. Wood, his brother Oliver Wood and Jano Rix then added lyrics to complete the new compositions.

“We all have these little kingdoms inside of our minds,” Chris Wood stated. “And without really planning it out, the songs on this album all ended up exploring that idea in some way or another. They look at the ways we deal with our dreams and our regrets and our fears and our loves. They look at the stories we tell ourselves and the ways we balance the darkness and the light.”


“We weren’t performing songs,” Oliver Wood stated. “We were just improvising and letting the music dictate everything. Somebody would start playing, and then we’d all jump into the groove with them and see where it went. Normally when recording, you’re thinking about your parts and your performances, but with these sessions, we were just reacting to each other and having fun in the moment.”

Premiered by Rolling Stone Country, the lead single “Alabaster” can be heard below:


Kingdom In My Mind Tracklist

  1. Alabaster
  2. Little Bit Sweet
  3. Jitterbug Love
  4. Cry Over Nothing
  5. Don’t Thing About My Death
  6. Little Bit Broken
  7. The One I Love
  8. Little Blue
  9. A Dream’s A Dream
  10. Satisfied
  11. Little Blue (Reprise)

Tour Dates for The Wood Brothers