The Skiffle Players Announce New Album ‘Skiff’ & Share Single


The Skiffle Players will release their sophomore album Skiff through Spiritual Pajamas on October 12. The forthcoming album features the lead single “Local Boy.”

The Skiffle Players consists of multi-instrumentalist Farmer Dave Scher, guitarist Neal Casal (Chris Robinson Brotherhood, Circles around the Sun), bassist Dan Horne (Circles Around the Sun, Jonathan Wilson), drummer Aaron Sperske (Beachwood Sparks) and guitarist Cass McCombs. They issued their debut album Skifflin in 2016 and its companion Piffle Sayers EP came out earlier this year.

The sessions for Skiff were held with with engineer Matt “Linny” Linesch at Infinitespin Recorders in Van Nuys, California. The 13-track record is a “new direction” for the band, with each contributing vocals and writing. In addition to the new originals, the album closes with a cover of “Sweet Georgia Brown.”

“This record takes things up a notch for The Skiffle Players, expanding upon the topography of our first record, while using the Piffle Sayers EP as a stepping stone to leap to new heights, song styles, thematic content and writers,” said Farmer Dave. “Neal Casal and myself contribute songs to the group for the first time, and Cass is back with some amazing new tunes. It’s a float down the river of song — an attitude, a way of life, an offering.”

McCombs wrote and sings lead on the single “Local Boy,” which can be streamed below:

Skiff Tracklist

  1. Cara
  2. Local Boy
  3. You’ll Miss It When It’s Gone
  4. The Law Offices of Dewey, Cheatum, and Howe
  5. Wham!
  6. Long Horns, Long Necks, Long Legs
  7. Herbamera
  8. Los Angeles Alleyway
  9. Skiffleman
  10. Harsh Toke
  11. Oakland Scottish Rite Temple Waltz
  12. Santa Fe
  13. Sweet Georgia Brown

Tour Dates for The Skiffle Players