The Greyboy Allstars Detail ‘A Town Called Earth’ 25th Anniversary Reissue

Preview ‘A Town Called Earth: The Immortal Edition’ with “Happy Friends.”

By Nate Todd Aug 17, 2022 4:09 pm PDT

The Greyboy Allstars will reissue their out-of-print 1997 album, A Town Called Earth, on both vinyl and digital formats for the first time on September 16 via the band’s Knowledge Room Recordings in cooperation with Light In The Attic. The renowned funk and soul outfit previewed the 25th anniversary, A Town Called Earth: The Immortal Edition, with the LP’s third track, “Happy Friends.”

The Greyboy Allstars — saxophonist Karl Denson, keyboardist Robert Walter, guitarist Elgin Park (aka Mike Andrews), bassist Chris Stillwell and drummer Zak Najor — released A Town Called Earth in the summer of 1997 as the follow up to their landmark 1994 debut album, West Coast Boogaloo, which featured contributions from James Brown/Parliament-Funkadelic trombonist Fred Wesley who wrote the liner notes for A Town Called Earth.

Remastered from the original analog tape by Dave Cooley and Phillip Rodriguez at Elysian Masters, A Town Called Earth: The Immortal Edition includes the album’s original 10 tracks along with an unreleased cut “Cassiopeia’s Chair.”

“It feels great to still be making music together as we revisit this seminal record,” Karl Denson noted. “It was a great time in our lives, [when] we found like-minded artists and were able to do something on the scale of A Town Called Earth… And vinyl is and will always be cool.”

The A Town Called Earth: Immortal Editon double LP will receive a limited run pressed on 180-gram audiophile, earth mist color vinyl and will arrive with an 18 x 24” color poster. Preview the remastered reissue with “Happy Friends” below:

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections