The Brother Brothers Announce New Covers Album ‘Cover To Cover’ & Share Single

Listen to the twin brother duo and Sarah harmonize on JT's "You Can Close Your Eyes."

By Nate Todd May 26, 2022 1:20 pm PDT

The Brother Brothers will issue a new covers album, Cover To Cover, on August 5 via Compass Records. The duo previewed the LP with James Taylor’s “You Can Close Your Eyes” featuring Sarah Jarosz.

From an early age, music was a constant companion for multi-instrumentalist twin brothers Adam Moss and David Moss. Listening to The Beatles’ White Album as a lullaby when they were six, Adam and David — whose tightly woven voices have drawn comparisons to another fraternal duo, The Everly Brothers — made up their own harmonies to sing along with Paul McCartney on “I Will,” which was one of the first songs they chose to record for Cover To Cover.

The record also contains Tom T. Hall’s “That’s How I Got to Memphis,” which opens the album, Tom Waits’ “Flower’s Grave” and the Jackson Browne classic “These Days,” penned by Browne when he was just 17, among others.

“[‘These Days’] is possibly the reason we got together as a duo,” Adam revealed. “We soundcheck with it every show and drive down the road marveling at the fact that Jackson Browne could have written this song with such a wise sentiment at such a young age.”

Cover To Cover also sees The Brother Brothers teaming up with a number of artists with whom they’ve collaborated throughout the years including Lake Street Dive vocalist Rachael Price and her sister Emily on Hoagy Carmichael’s “I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes).” Sarah Jarosz collaborator Jeff Picker contributes guitar and bass to “These Days” while Michaela Anne adds high harmonies to the Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris and Linda Ronstadt-popularized “High Sierra.” Banjoist Alison Brown can also be heard throughout the album. The aforementioned Sarah Jarosz contributes mandolin to Robert Earl Keen’s “Feelin’ Good Again” and harmonizes on Taylro’s “You Can Close Your Eyes.”

The Bluegrass Situation premiered the James Taylor nod and The Brother Brothers detailed their collaboration with Sarah in the publication:

When we were first conceiving of this album, we knew that having our dear friend Sarah Jarosz sing harmonies with us would be an amazing treatment for one of the songs. We’ve done a number of opening runs with both Sarah and her illustrious trio, I’m With Her, and backstage we would often about talk about the music we love. In these conversations James Taylor would always remain as a favorite of ours and although none of us know him, we can all agree that his music is just as dear to us as any friend could become. In our humble opinion, the chorus to ‘You Can Close Your Eyes’ is one of the greatest ever written, and the song inspires a longing for the way we wish life could be as only we can feel when listening to a child of the ’60s sing about their romanticized experience of the ’70s. It was truly an honor and serious joy working out the harmony for this song with Sarah. We hope you can hear the love in the song that permeates through our friendship and our collective wish to see a world where we all can close our eyes safely sheltered by those who love us.

Preview Cover To Cover with The Brother Brothers and Sarah Jarosz on James Taylor’s “You Can Close Your Eyes” below:

Loading band summary

Cover To Cover Tracklist:

  1. That’s How I Got To Memphis
  2. These Days
  3. You Can Close Your Eyes (feat. Sarah Jarosz)
  4. If You Ain’t Got Love
  5. There’s A Rugged Road
  6. I Will
  7. I Get Along Very Well Without You (Except Sometimes) [feat. Rachael Price]
  8. Feelin’ Good Again
  9. Waltzing’s For Dreamers
  10. High Sierra (feat. Michaela Anne)
  11. Blue Virginia Blues
  12. Flower’s Grave
JamBase Collections