Tedeschi Trucks Band Debuts Neil Young Cover With Members Of Drive-By Truckers

By Scott Bernstein Jul 11, 2018 1:34 pm PDT

Once again, the Wheels Of Soul Tour has been a collaboration-heavy affair as almost each stop of the Tedeschi Trucks Band-headlined run has featured guest spots. The Tedeschi Trucks Band welcomed members of support acts The Marcus King Band and Drive-By Truckers to sit-in on Tuesday night at CMAC in Canandaigua, New York including the TTB debut of a beloved Neil Young song.

Guitarists Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi led the 12-piece outfit through Derek & The Dominos’ “Keep On Growing” to open their set last night. The TTB then focused on originals for the next five songs including the Derek showcase “Midnight In Harlem.” Last night’s set included a pair of Bob Dylan covers, the first of which was the recently revived “Down In The Flood.”

Marcus King was the Tedeschi Trucks Band’s initial guest of the evening. King added to a take on Joe Tex’s “Show Me.” Then, Marcus King Band keyboardist DeShawn Alexader emerged to add to “Let Me Get By.” Drive-By Truckers guitarists Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley kept the parade of guests coming by helping out on a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Going, Going, Gone.” The pair stuck around to augment the Tedeschi Trucks Band on the group’s debut version of “Rockin’ In The Free World” by Neil Young. Patterson provided lead vocals while Susan sang harmony.

While the group didn’t welcome any guests to end the show, they did have one more surprise in store for the encore. The band powered through “I Want More” from their most recent studio album Let Me Get By to start the encore. Derek Trucks led a transition into a portion of The Allman Brothers Band instrumental “In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed” to the delight of the crowd before the group ended “I Want More.” The Wheels Of Soul Tour continues tonight at Wolf Trap in Vienna, Virginia.

Listen to an audience recording of last night’s “Rockin’ In The Free World” taped by Hal Francis:


Tedeschi Trucks Band at Constellation Brands – Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center

  • Keep On Growing  
  • Laugh About It
  • Just as Strange
  • Don't Know What It Means
  • Shame
  • Midnight in Harlem
  • Down in the Flood  
  • Show Me  
  • Let Me Get By
  • Going, Going, Gone  
  • Rockin' in the Free World  
  • I Want More  
  • In Memory of Elizabeth Reed  
JamBase Collections