TAUK Details New Album ‘Chaos Companion’

The electro-prog act also shared a video for ‘Chaos Companion’ single “The Let Out” starring Turkuaz vocalist Sammi Garett.

By Scott Bernstein Aug 4, 2021 9:01 am PDT

Prog-jam quartet TAUK confirmed the upcoming release of Chaos Companion, a full-length instrumental album. The nine-track LP arrives on September 24.

TAUK recorded the follow-up to 2018’s Shapeshifter volumes over the past year at a new studio they built on their native Long Island. “Everyone’s got a chaos companion, something that keeps you grounded in the midst of all the madness,” bassist Charlie Dolan said of the album’s title. “Maybe it’s your spouse, maybe it’s your kids, maybe it’s your dog. For us, it was the music.”

“This past year presented us with more time to be creative and delve into our artistic expression,” explained keyboardist Alric Carter. “Recording Chaos Companion opened up new avenues for us to explore and stands as a story of our time spent together. It has been super exciting to collaborate and pick from a wide variety of new songs to make this album.”

Dolan, Carter, guitarist Matt Jalbert and drummer Isaac Teel previously unveiled Chaos Companion singles “Moon Dub” and “The Let Out.” Today’s announcement comes with a music video for the latter. TAUK will embark on an an extensive fall tour in support of the LP.

Watch TAUK’s “The Let Out” video directed by Dani Barbieri and starring Turkuaz vocalist Sammi Garett:

Chaos Companion Tracklist

  1. Chandara
  2. Make Your Move
  3. Moon Dub
  4. New Age Trip
  5. Dormammu (featuring The Shady Horns)
  6. The Let Out
  7. Technodrome
  8. Lonely Robot
  9. Yasuke

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections