Sunny War Shares ‘Higher’ Single From New Album Featuring Jim James, Allison Russell & More

Hear the latest single off the singer-songwriter's upcoming LP, 'Anarchist Gospel.'

By Nate Todd Nov 23, 2022 1:20 pm PST

Singer-songwriter and guitarist Sunny War released a new single, “Higher.” The track is set to land on Sunny’s forthcoming LP, Anarchist Gospel, due out on February 3, 2023 via New West Records and featuring My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James, Allison Russell and more.

Along with James and Russell, Anarchist Gospel — produced by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Hurray for the Riff Raff) — also sees guest spots from David Rawlings, The Raconteurs’ Jack Lawrence, Micah Nelson, John James Tourville of The Deslondes, Kyshona Armstrong, Dennis Crouch, The School Zone Children’s Choir and more. The 14-song set boasts 12 Sunny War originals as well as covers of Ween’s “Baby Bitch” and Van Hunt’s “Hopeless.”

Sunny War previously shared the Anarchist Gospel cut “No Reason,” which mirrors the central theme on the album addressing the dichotomy of good and bad that exists in human nature.

“Everybody is a beast just trying their hardest to be good,” Sunny explained. “That’s what it is to be human. You’re not really good or bad. You’re just trying to stay in the middle of those two things all the time, and you’re probably doing a shitty job of it. That’s ok, because we’re all just monsters.”

The singer-songwriter also detailed the new single, “Higher”:

“I wrote ‘Higher’ around this time last year, just a few days after my ex collected the last of his belongings from our apartment. The break up was fresh and I was thinking about all the years we spent together. I was also thinking about how much stronger I was before our relationship. I remember feeling really weak at the end… I knew it was over when I didn’t even have the energy to fight anymore. The ‘I am out of remedies, at least I’m not a liar’ lyric sums up how I felt when I knew it was really over and time to be honest about it. All I could do at that point was let go and try to figure out how to get back to whoever I was back when I respected myself. It was the same person my ex was attracted to in the first place that he unknowingly destroyed. ‘Somewhere in my memories I held my head much higher.’”

Listen to “Higher,” featuring David Rawlings, below:

Sunny War is set to hit the road around Anarchist Gospel in 2023. Check out her tour dates below:

Loading tour dates

Anarchist Gospel Tracklist:

  1. Love’s Death Bed
  2. No Reason
  3. Shelter And Storm
  4. I Got No Fight
  5. Swear To Gawd
  6. Earth
  7. New Day
  8. Baby Bitch
  9. His Love
  10. Hopeless
  11. Higher
  12. Test Dummy
  13. Sweet Nothing
  14. Whole
JamBase Collections