Rush To Release R40 40th Anniversary Box Set

While legendary rockers Rush won’t commemorate this year’s 40th anniversary of their 1974 debut album by touring, they will soon celebrate the occasion with the release of a massive box set of videos. R40, a 10-DVD/6-Blu-ray compilation, is due on November 11 and contains previously-released concert films along with a collection of previously unreleased live performances.

Included in R40 are Rush in Rio (2003), R30 (2009), Snakes & Arrows Live (2008), Time Machine 2011: Time in Cleveland (2011) and Clockwork Angels Tour (2013); but it’s the bonus disc that has the band’s fans most excited. The bonus disc collects eight tracks recorded at the Laura Secord Secondary School in 1974 with former drummer John Rutsey behind the kit, plus a live set recorded at the Capitol Theatre in 1976, “Lock & Key” from 1988, eight tracks from a 1997 performance plus footage of Rush’s 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction. The footage from 1974 includes three songs that have never been released -originals “I’ve Been Runnin'” and “The Loser” plus a cover of “Bad By” by Larry Williams.

R40 Bonus Disc Contents:

Laura Secord Secondary School 1974

1. “Need Some Love”
2. “Before and After”
3. “Best I Can”
4. “I’ve Been Runnin'”
5. “Bad Boy”
6. “The Loser”
7. “Working Man”
8. “In the Mood” (partial)

Capitol Theatre 1976

1. “Bastille Day”
2. “Anthem”
3. “Lakeside Park”
4. “2112”
5. “Fly By Night”/”In the Mood”


“Lock and Key”

Molson Amphitheatre 1997

1. “Limelight”
2. “Half the World”
3. “Limbo”
4. “Virtuality”
5. “Nobody’s Hero”
6. “Test for Echo”
7. “Leave That Thing Alone”/Drum Solo
8. “2112” (all seven parts)


“I Still Love You Man”

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction, 2013

1. “2112,” featuring Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz
2. “Tom Sawyer”
3. “The Spirit of Radio”

[via Rolling Stone]