Robert Plant & Alison Krauss Announce New Album ‘Raise The Roof’ & Share Single

Lead single "Can't Let Go" was written by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams.

By Scott Bernstein Aug 12, 2021 7:22 am PDT

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss will release Raise The Roof, their second collaborative studio album, via Rounder Records on November 19. Today, the pair previewed the 12-LP with its lead single, “Can’t Let Go.”

The Led Zeppelin frontman and bluegrass great first joined forces in 2007 on the critically-acclaimed and platinum-selling Raising Sand. After 14 years, the duo is back with an album featuring an original and songs by the likes of Allen Toussaint, Bert Jansch, Anne Briggs, The Everly Brothers and more. T Bone Burnett produced Raise The Roof as he did its predecessor.

Raise The Roof contributors include guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell and Buddy Miller as well as bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, ace pedal steel player Russ Pahl and drummer Jay Bellerose. Krauss recalls listening to Calexico’s “Quattro (World Drifts In)” as “the moment I knew we’d make another album.”

“We wanted it to move,” explained Alison. “We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.”

“You hear something and you go ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!’ It’s a vacation, really — the perfect place to go that you least expected to find,” added Robert Plant. Robert and Alison plan to tour together next year. Dates for their 2022 tour will be announced soon.

“Can’t Let Go” was penned by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams for her 1998 studio album, Car Wheels On A Gravel Road. Listen to Robert Plant & Alison Krauss’ version below:

Raise The Roof Tracklist

  1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
  2. The Price of Love
  3. Go Your Way
  4. Trouble With My Lover
  5. Searching for My Love
  6. Can’t Let Go
  7. It Don’t Bother Me
  8. You Led Me to The Wrong
  9. Last Kind Words Blues
  10. High and Lonesome
  11. Going Where the Lonely Go
  12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

Tour Dates for Robert Plant

Tour Dates for Alison Krauss

JamBase Collections