Release Day Picks: May 27th New Album Selections

By Team JamBase May 27, 2016 5:26 am PDT

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Robert Glasper & Miles Davis, Frank Zappa and My Morning Jacket. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Miles Davis & Robert Glasper – Everything’s Beautiful

The Scoop: Grammy-winning jazz/R&B/hip-hop artist Robert Glasper created this 11-song tribute to the late great trumpeter Miles Davis. The pianist was given access to master takes and outtakes from Davis’ Columbia catalog and incorporated the jazz legend’s recordings into new original compositions. “I didn’t want to do just a remix record,” Glasper said. “My idea was to show how Miles inspired people to make new art.” The guest-filled LP includes outside contributions on all but one of the LP’s tracks, with appearances by Stevie Wonder, Erykah Badu, Hiatus Kaiyote and many others. Here’s “I’m Leaving You featuring John Scofield and Ledisi:

Label: Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings

Producer: Robert Glasper

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 47:03

Guest Musicians: Stevie Wonder, John Scofield, Ledisi, Bilal, Erykah Badu, Haitus Kaiyote, Illa J, Georgia Ann Muldrow, KING, Phonte


  1. Talking Shit
  2. Ghetto Walkin (featuring Bilal)
  3. They Can’t Hold Me Down (featuring Illa J)
  4. Maiysha (So Long) (featuring Erykah Badu)
  5. Violets (featuring Phonte)
  6. Little Church (featuring Hiatus Kaiyote)
  7. Silence Is The Way (featuring Laura Mvula)
  8. Song For Selim (featuring KING)
  9. Milestones (featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow)
  10. I’m Leaving You (featuring John Scofield and Ledisi)
  11. Right On Brotha (featuring Stevie Wonder)

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Frank Zappa – Road Tapes, Venue #3

The Scoop: In 2012 the Zappa Family Trust started a live archival series featuring Frank Zappa performances titled Road Tapes. After releasing the second installment in 2013, the ZFT has finally unveiled Road Tapes, Venue #3 today. The 2-CD set includes two shows Frank Zappa and The Mothers Of Invention played at the Tyrone Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis on July 5, 1970. Frank’s band at the time saw him joined by Howard Kaylan (vocals), Mark Volman (vocals), George Duke (keyboards, trombone), Ian Underwood (keyboards, alto sax), Jeff Simmons (bass, vocals) and Aynsley Dunbar (drums). Kaylan and Volman are better known as “Flo & Eddie.” The new Road Tapes contains such Zappa classics as “King Kong,” “Sharleena” and “Pound For A Brown.”

Label: Zappa Records

Number Of Tracks: 28

Running Time: 2:26:09

Guest Musicians: Flo & Eddie, George Duke, Ian Underwood, Aynsley Dunbar & Jeff Simmons


  • 1. Tyrone Start The Tape
  • 2. King Kong
  • 3. Wonderful Wino (Zappa/Simmons)
  • 4. Concentration Moon
  • 5. Mom & Dad
  • 6. The Air
  • 7. Dog Breath
  • 8. Mother People
  • 9. You Didn’t Try To Call Me
  • 10. Agon – Interlude (Stravinsky)
  • 11. Call Any Vegetable
  • 12. King Kong / Igor’s Boogie
  • 13. It Can’t Happen Here
  • 14. Sharleena

Show 2

  • 15. The 23rd “Mondellos”
  • 16. Justine (Harris/Terry)


Show 2, continued

  • 1. Pound For A Brown
  • 2. Sleeping In A Jar
  • 3. Sharleena
  • 4. “A Piece Of Contemporary Music”
  • 5. The Return Of The Hunchback Duke (incl.: Little House I Used To Live In, Holiday In Berlin)
  • 6. Cruising For Burgers
  • 7. Let’s Make The Water Turn Black
  • 8. Harry, You’re A Beast
  • 9. Oh No/Orange County Lumber Truck
  • 10. Call Any Vegetable
  • 11. Mondello’s Revenge
  • 12. The Clap (Chunga’s Revenge)

Stream / CD/LP

My Morning Jacket – It Still Moves Deluxe Reissue

The Scoop: It could be argued that My Morning Jacket are partially responsible for putting the then fledgling ATO Records on the map as a legit music label with the release of their third studio album It Still Moves, following the breakout success of David Grey three years prior. The Dave Matthews-backed imprint turns 15 this year, and as a way celebrating that milestone they are returning to that record with a fully remixed reissue of the now classic album that also features three previously unreleased tracks as well as 10 acoustic demos of the songs on the initial offering. MMJ front man Jim James used the opportunity to “dig back in and re-sculpt the album” that he had long considered rushed and unfinished due to their hectic touring schedule at the time. The record itself found the band emerging from their previous psychedelic lo-fi Americana-tinged releases with a bigger, fleshed-out crunchy sound that balanced anthemic arena-rockers (“One Big Holiday,” “Dancefloors”) with their mellower country-folk-tinged side (“I Will Sing You Song,” “Rollin’ Back”). Give a listen to this remixed and remastered version of “One Big Holiday”:

Label: ATO Records

Producer: Jim James

Number Of Tracks: 25

Running Time: 2:16:51

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Mahgeetah
  2. Dancefloors
  3. Golden
  4. Masterplan
  5. One Big Holiday
  6. I Will Sing You Songs
  7. Easy Morning Rebel
  8. Run Thru
  9. Rollin Back
  10. Just One Thing
  11. Steam Engine
  12. One In The Same

Bonus Material

  1. En La Ceremony
  2. Grab A Body
  3. That’s Too Bad
  4. Mahgeetah (Demo)
  5. Dancefloors (Demo)
  6. Golden (Demo)
  7. Masterplan (Demo)
  8. I Will Sing You Songs (Demo)
  9. Easy Morning Rebel (Demo)
  10. Run Thru (Demo)
  11. Rollin Back (Demo)
  12. Steam Engine (Demo)
  13. One In The Same (Demo)

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein

JamBase Collections