Release Day Picks: February 16th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Brandi Carlile, I’m With Her, Horseshoes and Hand Grenades and Marlon Williams. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Brandi Carlile – By The Way I Forgive You

The Scoop: Few can say that they’ve been shorted on emotion from listening to a Brandi Carlile record. The talented singer-songwriter wears her heart on her sleeve and gives you everything she has with her powerful vocals and introspective lyrics. For her latest, By The Way I Forgive You, Carlile and her band mates Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth recruited in-demand Nashville producer Dave Cobb and outlaw country singer Shooter Jenning to step behind the boards as well as contribute to the recording sessions. The 10-track effort is an instant Americana classic loaded with big production sounds – most notably the use of a string section – to match with what Carlile does best. The album mixes folk and country with torch songs and even bluegrass all highlighted by powerful gospel-ready harmonies. Check out this intimate live performance of “The Mother”:

Label: Elektra Records

Producer: Dave Cobb, Shooter Jennings

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 43:25

Guest Musicians: Carole Rabinowitz, Josh Neumann, Chris Powell, John Mark Painter, Dave Cobb, Shooter Jennings, Kristin Wilkinson, Alicia Enstrom, David Angell, Anderson East, The Secret Sisters, Gena Johnson


  1. Every Time I Hear That Song
  2. The Joke
  3. Hold Out Your Hand
  4. The Mother
  5. Whatever You Do
  6. Fulton County Jane Doe
  7. Sugartooth
  8. Most Of All
  9. Harder To Forgive You
  10. Party Of One

Stream / Download / CD/LP

I’m With Her – See You Around

The Scoop: An unplanned performance at the Sheridan Opera House in Telluride, Colorado back in 2014 set in motion See You Around, the debut album from folk supergroup I’m With Her. The multi-talented trio of Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan recorded their first studio LP with producer Ethan Johns at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios near Bath, England. Watkins, Jarosz and O’Donovan wrote the songs on the album in Los Angeles and Vermont. The trio is credited as co-producers and, along with Johns, provided all of the instrumentation on the 12-track record. Watch the video for “Game To Lose”:

Label: Rounder Records

Producer: Ethan Johns, I’m With Her

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 40:02

Guest Musicians: Ethan Johns


  1. See You Around
  2. Game to Lose
  3. Ain’t That Fine
  4. Pangaea
  5. I-89
  6. Wild One
  7. Waitsfield
  8. Ryland (Under the Apple Tree)
  9. Overland
  10. Crescent City
  11. Close It Down
  12. Hundred Miles

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades – The Ode

The Scoop: When The Infamous Stringdusters decided to start a record label, they had many options for which bands to sign and what album to issue. Today, The ‘Dusters’ Tape Time Records has released its debut offering, The Ode from bluegrass/Americana quintet Horseshoes & Hand Grenades. Dave Simonett of Trampled By Turtles produced The Ode which was recorded at Pachyderm Studio in Minnesota, where Nirvana recorded In Utero. Horseshoes & Hand Grenades have spent the last seven years hustling, as the Wisconsin-based band always seems to be on the road and had previously released three studio albums. Now, the quintet is ready to spread its wings musically and mix jamgrass burners with songs that feature elements of jazz, classic, Zydeco, Cajun, blues and even a bit of pop. However, don’t get it twisted, The Ode still features the good-time vibe that permeates H&HG live concerts and has helped the band build a loyal following. The group is a rare five-piece in which all five members are impressive songwriters, so listeners to The Ode will pick up elements of each musician’s heart and soul at various points of the 11-track effort. Listen to the album’s title track, “The Ode”:

Label: Tape Time Records

Producer: Dave Simonett

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 39 Minutes

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. The Ode
  2. Next Riverbend
  3. Steer True
  4. Stay Awhile
  5. AC/BC
  6. Home Again
  7. Foggy Halo
  8. American Dream
  9. River Time
  10. Millienial Girl
  11. Eat The Cake

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Marlon Williams – Make Way For Love

The Scoop: If Google didn’t exist odds are those listening to Marlon Williams for the first time might immediately mistake him for Roy Orbison, Marty Robbins or for a more contemporary comparison Chris Isaak. The 27-year-old singer-songwriter, who is from Lyttelton, New Zealand, has a distinctive retro country croon that is straight out of Nashville in the 1950s. Williams leans heavy on the heartbreak of that sound for his sophomore solo album, Make Way For Love. The 10-track release was inspired by a breakup with fellow NZ musician Aldous Harding, with the pair even teaming up on the emotional relationship-ending tune “Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore.” Check out the music video for “What’s Chasing You”:

Label:Dead Oceans

Producer: Ben Edwards, Noah Georgeson

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 39:02

Guest Musicians: Aldous Harding, Angus Agars, Dave Khan, Ben Woolley


  1. Come To Me
  2. What’s Chasing You
  3. Beautiful Dress
  4. Party Boy
  5. Can I Call You
  6. Love Is A Terrible Thing
  7. I Know A Jeweller
  8. I Didn’t Make A Plan
  9. The Fire Of Love
  10. Nobody Get What They Want Anymore
  11. Make Way For Love

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.