Release Day Picks: August 10th New Album Highlights

By Team JamBase Aug 10, 2018 6:21 am PDT

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by The Magpie Salute, Shooter Jennings and Midnight North. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

The Magpie Salute – High Water I

The Scoop: Guitarist Rich Robinson introduced The Magpie Salute to the world with dozens of 2017 shows as a ten-piece. Earlier this year the band entered Dark Horse Studios in Nashville with Rich serving as producer to record their debut studio album, High Water I, which is out today. Robinson decided to strip the lineup down to its core of fellow Black Crowes alums Marc Ford on guitar and Sven Pipien on bass as well as vocalist John Hogg, keyboardist Matt Slocum and drummer Joe Magistro. “Touring as a ten-piece is cool, but it’s more like a revue,” said Robinson in a statement. “Everything on stage was great. When you’re ready to record, there’s a lot of space that needs to be considered though. We didn’t want it to get too chaotic or too hard to sift through. The core was really important and needed to shine as a strong six-piece.” Listen to the lead single “Send Me An Omen”:

Label: Eagle Rock

Producer: Rich Robinson

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 48:10

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Mary The Gypsy
  2. High Water
  3. Send Me An Omen
  4. For The Wind
  5. Sister Moon
  6. Color Blind
  7. Take It All
  8. Walk On Water
  9. Hand In Hand
  10. You Found Me
  11. Can You See
  12. Open Up

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Shooter Jennings – Shooter

The Scoop: Outlaw country singer-songwriter Shooter Jennings went to Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A to record Shooter with acclaimed producer Dave Cobb who also produced Jennings’ first three records dating back to 2005. Cobb also produced Jennings’ 2010 album Black Ribbons and the pair teamed up to co-produce Brandi Carlile’s album By The Way, I Forgive You that came out this year. “I called Dave and said, ‘Everyone is taking the adventurous route we took on my first records but nobody is making records like Hank Williams Jr.,’” Jennings stated. “Just classic good time honky tonk. I want to do that. I want to make a slammin’ country record. I want to make the best country record for right now. He said, ‘I’m in. Come down to Nashville and let’s record that record.’” Jennings, whosefather is the late outlaw country legend Waylon Jennings, shared a series of videos for songs on Shooter in a variety show format. Here’s “D.R.U.N.K.”:

Label: Low Country Sound / Elektra Records

Producer: Dave Cobb

Number Of Tracks: 9

Running Time: 31:28

Guest Musicians: Chris Powell, Brian Allen, Ben Clark, Nate Heffron, Fred Newell, Bekka Bramlett, Kristen Rogers, Leroy Powell


  1. Bound ta Git Down
  2. Do You Love Texas?
  3. Living in a Minor Key
  4. D.R.U.N.K.
  5. Shades & Hues
  6. I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy
  7. Fast Horses & Good Hideouts
  8. Rhinestone Eyes
  9. Denim & Diamonds

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Midnight North – Selections From The Great American Music Hall

The Scoop: As the title reveals, Selections From The Great American Music Hall was recorded at Midnight North’s hometown performance in San Francisco on November 3, 2017 at Great American Music Hall featuring members of the Grateful Dead, Twiddle and a horn section. Midnight North chose eight songs to be included in the guest-filled live release including Bob Weir leading his “Only A River” and fellow Greatful Dead member Phil Lesh joining Bobby on “The Music Never Stopped.” Lesh was also on stage performing alongside his son, Midnight North guitarist Grahame Lesh, on a version of “Under The Lights” featuring additional guests Mihali Savoulidis and Ryan Dempsey of Twiddle and The Northbound Horns made up of Michael Bello, Elizabeth Larson and Jay Jordan. Stream “Miss M” featuring the horns and the guys from Twiddle below:

Label: Self-Released

Producer: Connor O’Sullivan, Grahame Lesh, Elliott Peck

Number Of Tracks: 8

Guest Musicians: Bob Weir, Phil Lesh, Mihali Savoulidis, Ryan Dempsey, Northbound Horns: Michael Bello, Elizabeth Larson, Jay Jordan


  1. Everyday (Featuring the Northbound Horns)
  2. Playing A Poor Hand Well (Featuring the Northbound Horns)
  3. Lost In The Cold (Featuring Mihali Savoulidis, Ryan Dempsey & The Northbound Horns)
  4. Only A River (Featuring Bob Weir)
  5. The Music Never Stopped (Featuring Bob Weir & Phil Lesh)
  6. Miss M (Featuring Mihali Savoulidis, Ryan Dempsey & The Northbound Horns)
  7. Angel From Montgomery (Featuring Ryan Dempsey & Mihali Savoulidis)
  8. Under The Lights (Featuring Phil Lesh, Mihali Savoulidis, Ryan Dempsey & The Northbound Horns)

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.

JamBase Collections