Primus Announces New Studio Album & 2017 Fall Tour

By Scott Bernstein Jul 31, 2017 7:10 am PDT

Primus will release their ninth studio album, The Desaturating Seven on September 29. Not only is it the group’s first studio album of original material in six years, it’s the first Primus LP featuring the original lineup of Les Claypool, Tim Alexander and Larry LaLonde since 1995’s Tales From The Punchbowl. Primus also announced a Fall Tour.

“Many years ago when my children were little kidlets scurrying around the place wreaking havoc and whatnot till it was time for bed and book time, my wife turned them on to a book called ‘The Rainbow Goblins’ by Ul De Rico,” Claypool explained about the LP. “The dark imagery and beauty of the art struck me immediately and I thought, ‘this would make good fodder for a piece of music.’ The use of color and darkness both in the paintings and the writing was compelling and now, near two decades later, the metaphor of greed, gluttony and deceit vs unity of the masses is eerily relevant. I brought the notion to the Primus guys and they were all for it. Plus, I figured it’s about time someone brought ‘Goblin Rock’ back to the fold.”

Fall Tour 2017 begins for Primus at Sunken Gardens in San Antonio on October 20. From there, the band visits Houston, Austin, Nashville, Albany, Washington D.C. and Port Chester. The trio will celebrate Halloween at Brooklyn Steel in New York City. Primus then heads to the Northeast for concerts in Akron, Cincinnati, Louisville, St. Louis and Knoxville. The tour continues with stops in Atlanta, Orlando, Clearwater and New Orleans. On December 29 and 30 Primus will play The Wiltern in Los Angeles. Claypool has a long streak of performing in the Bay Area on New Year’s Eve, but Primus’s plans for December 31 have not been confirmed.

Listen to the new single, “The Seven” which premiered via Rolling Stone:

Head here to pre-order The Desaturated Seven.

The Desaturating Seven Tracklist

  1. The Valley
  2. The Seven
  3. The Trek
  4. The Scheme
  5. The Dream
  6. The Storm
  7. The Ends?

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections