Pretenders Announce New Album ‘Hate For Sale’ & Share Single


The Pretenders will release their new album, Hate For Sale, on May 1 via BMG. The band led by Chrissie Hynde shared the record’s lead single, “The Buzz.”

Hate For Sale is the follow-up to 2016’s Dan Auerbach-produced Alone. The new 10-track release was produced by Stephen Street and for the first time finds Hynde sharing co-writing credits with guitarist James Walbourne, who joined the band in 2008.

“I wanted to write with him since day one,” Hynde stated. “James is especially sought after and has recorded with Jerry Lee Lewis, Dave Gahan, and The Rails, to name but a few. We always planned on writing while on the road, but as anyone in a band will tell you, being on tour is a procrastinator’s dream come true.”


Stream “The Buzz” below:


Hate For Sale Tracklist

  1. Hate For Sale
  2. The Buzz
  3. Lightning Man
  4. Turf Accountant Daddy
  5. You Can’t Hurt A Fool
  6. I Didn’t Know When To Stop
  7. Maybe Love Is In NYC
  8. Junkie Walk
  9. Didn’t Want To Be This Lonely
  10. Crying in Public