Posthumous Townes Van Zandt Album Of Unreleased Recordings Coming Soon


A collection of previously unreleased recordings by the late Townes Van Zandt entitled Sky Blue will be released via TVZ Records/Fat Possum Records. The posthumous album will be issued on March 7, on what would have been the legendary singer-songwriter’s 75th birthday.

The 11-track collection was recorded in early 1973 by Van Zandt’s longtime friend Bill Hedgepeth and features stripped-down takes on a number of his most well-known compositions like “Pancho And Lefty” as well as covers of songs by Richard Dobson and Tom Paxton. Additionally, the album is highlighted by “All I Need” and “Sky Blue,” two new songs that have never been heard before. Listen to the previously unheard “All I Need” below:

Sky Blue Tracklist

  1. All I Need
  2. Rex’s Blues
  3. Hills of Roane County
  4. Sky Blue
  5. Forever For Always For Certain
  6. Blue Ridge Mountain Blues (Smoky Version)
  7. Pancho and Lefty
  8. Snake Song
  9. Silver Ships of Andilar
  10. Dream Spider
  11. The Last Thing On My Mind