Pearl Jam’s Stone Gossard Forms Painted Shield With Mason Jennings, Matt Chamberlain & Brittany Davis

By Andy Kahn Sep 10, 2020 8:19 am PDT

Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard formed a new band called Painted Shield with singer-songwriter Mason Jennings, keyboardist Brittany Davis and drummer Matt Chamberlain. The band shared “I Am Your Country,” the lead single off their upcoming self-titled debut album, which will be released through Loosegrove Records on November 27.

Chamberlain previously worked with Gossard during the former’s short stint in Pearl Jam in 1991. Jennings and Gossard released a collaborative 7-inch single in 2014 featuring the songs “Knife Fight” and “Caught In A Mess.” The album was recently completed when Gossard refocused his attention on it after Pearl Jam’s tour in support of Gigaton was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Many of the songs came together with Gossard sending instrumental demos to Jennings to add lyrics to.


“I’ve always got way too many irons in the fire,” Gossard told Rolling Stone. “It’s normal for me to have about 500 different items in a Dropbox file, bouncing around. And the last three months of the Pearl Jam record was really sort of Eddie [Vedder] going back in and taking a bunch of stuff and trying to focus it and trying to figure out how it all fits together in one spot. He did an incredible job with that, so I was off the hook a little bit there toward the end of that record, so I had some time.”

Three of the songs on Painted Shield feature drummer Josh Freese, while Chamberlin contributed to the other nine. Watch the “I Am Your Country” video via the Apple Music link below:


Painted Shield Tracklist

  1. Orphan Ghost
  2. Time Machine
  3. Knife Fight
  4. Ten Years From Now
  5. On The Level
  6. I Am Your Country
  7. Evil Wind
  8. Painted Shield
  9. Raven
JamBase Collections