Oysterhead Returns At Peach Music Festival

The set marked the supergroup's first performance in over 14 months.

By Nate Todd Jul 4, 2021 8:07 am PDT

Oysterhead delivered a headlining set at The Peach Music Festival on Saturday at Montage Mountain in Scranton, Pennsylvania. The performance marked guitarist Trey Anastasio, bassist Les Claypool and drummer Stewart Copeland’s first show back together since February 15, 2020.

Oysterhead kicked off the set with their namesake song, “Mr. Oysterhead.” Claypool led the band through the tune before grooving with Trey, which saw solos from both the guitarist and bassist ahead of a brief drum breakdown from Copeland. Claypool then addressed the band and the audience, “Look at all the fuckin’ people,” he said. He then remarked about how the last time he was in front of that many people he was with Trey and Stewart.

Next, Anastasio stepped to the mic for “Oz Is Ever Floating,” joined by Claypool on the chorus. The trio then jammed their way into “Rubberneck Lions,” which features Trey and Les sharing vocal duties and included a groovy jam that saw Anastasio and Claypool trading licks in the culmination before returning to the chorus. “Little Faces” came next ahead of “The Grand Pecking Order,” the title track to the band’s one and only album released in 2001. The trio kept on painting with “Polka Dot Rose” before Claypool led the band through “Army’s On Ecstasy” and “Shadow Of A Man.”

Trey then showcased his own “First Tube,” which appears in both the Phish and Trey Anastasio Band repertoires and is a co-write with late TAB bassist Tony Markellis who sadly died earlier this year. Oysterhead debuted “First Tube” at their previous performance in Broomfield, Colorado on February 15, 2020. The set then came to a close with “Owner Of The World.” Oysterhead would return to the stage for an encore of “Psuedo Suicide.”

Watch audience-shot video of “Mr. Oysterhead” and “Rubberneck Lions” below via the JamBase Live Video Archive:

Gregory Marcus (See 26 videos)
Oysterhead (See 18 videos)

gr8fuljon (See 5 videos)
Oysterhead (See 18 videos)

Setlist (via Phish.net)

Set One: Mr. Oysterhead, Oz is Ever Floating, Rubberneck Lions, Little Faces, The Grand Pecking Order, Polka Dot Rose, Army’s On Ecstasy, Shadow of a Man, First Tube, Owner of the World

Encore: Pseudo Suicide

JamBase Collections