Old Crow Medicine Show Announces New Album ‘Paint This Town’ & Shares Title Track

ATO Records will release the new LP on April 22.

By Andy Kahn Dec 8, 2021 8:13 am PST

Old Crow Medicine Show will release their seventh studio album, Paint This Town, on April 22 through ATO Records. The band shared a video for the title track lead single.

The 12-song album was co-produced by Matt Ross-Spang and OCMS, whose lineup currently consists of bandleader Ketch Secor, Morgan Jahnig, Cory Younts, Jerry Pentecost, Mike Harris and Mason Via. Taking an insular approach, the follow-up to 2018’s Volunteer was recorded at Old Crow’s Hartland Studio in East Nashville.

“At the end of the day, we’re still just trying to stop you on the street and get you to put a dollar in the guitar case,” Jahnig stated. “Then once we’ve got your attention, we’re gonna tell you about things like the opioid epidemic and the Confederate flag and what’s happening with the environment-but we’re gonna do it with a song and dance. We feel a great obligation to talk about the more difficult things happening out there in the world, but we also feel obligated to make sure everyone’s having a great time while we do it.”

The title track lead single arrived with a video directed by Travis Nicholson. Secor shared the following statement regarding “Paint This Town,” which was co-written by Jim Lauderdale:

“This song is about growing up in a small town, and having to make fun wherever you could find it. Our band has always drawn its inspiration from those elemental American places, where water towers profess town names, where the Waffle House and the gas station are the only spots to gather; this is the scenery for folk music in the 21st century. And the John Henry’s and Casey Jones of today are the youth who rise up out of these aged burgs undeterred, undefeated, and still kicking.”

Watch the “Paint This Town” video below:

Paint This Town Tracklist

  1. Paint This Town
  2. Bombs Away
  3. Gloryland
  4. Lord Willing and the Creek Don’t Rise
  5. Honey Chile
  6. Reasons To Run
  7. Painkiller
  8. Used To Be A Mountain
  9. Deford Rides Again
  10. New Mississippi Flag
  11. John Brown’s Dream
  12. Hillbilly Boy

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections