North Mississippi Allstars Share New Single ‘Run Red Rooster’

 Photo by Tom Bejgrowicz


On June 2, Sony Legacy will issue Prayer For Peace, the new studio album by North Mississippi Allstars. The band has shared audio for the LP’s single “Run Red Rooster.”

Core NMAS members, guitarist Luther Dickinson and multi-instrumentalist Cody Dickinson, got help recording their 17th studio LP from bassists Oteil Burbridge and Dominic Davis, guitarists Grahame Lesh and Kenny Brown, vocalist Sharisse Norman and vocalist/fife player Shardé Thomas. The 12-track record mixes originals and covers, such as their arrangements of R.L. Burnside’s “Long Haired Doney” and Mississippi Fred McDowell’s “You Got To Move.”

“‘Run Red Rooster’ is a true story about a friend of ours who ran to freedom from a road block,” Luther Dickinson told Premier Guitar. “The song was recorded live on the floor at the legendary Royal Studios by [co-producer] Boo Mitchell and features Kenny Brown on that Burnside boogie guitar.”

Listen to “Run Red Rooster” below:

Stream the previously shared two singles appearing on Prayer For Peace:

[Prayer For Peace]

[Long Haired Doney]

Prayer For Peace Tracklist

  1. Prayer For Peace
  2. Need To Be Free
  3. Miss Maybelle
  4. Run Red Rooster
  5. Stealin
  6. Deep Ellum
  7. Bird Without A Feather
  8. You Got To Move
  9. 61 Highway
  10. Long Haired Doney
  11. Bid You Goodnight
  12. P4P (Remix) #

# – CD Only


Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles