Nicole Atkins Announces New Album ‘Italian Ice’ & Shares Single


Nicole Atkins will release a new album, Italian Ice, on April 17 through Single Lock Records. The singer-songwriter shared the lead single, “Captain,” featuring Spoon’s Britt Daniel.

Atkins recorded Italian Ice at the historic Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Sheffield, Alabama with legendary session players Spooner Oldham and David Hood who were part of the famed Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section (The Swampers). Also joining Atkins were Binky Griptite of The Dap-Kings, Jim Sclavunos and Dave Sherman of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and drummer McKenzie Smith. Along with Daniel, guests on the record include Seth Avett of The Avett Brothers, Erin Rae and John Paul White.

“I just invited all my best musical friends to be there with me, and then we roped in Spooner and David too,” Atkins. “Musically, it doesn’t make any sense. But I’m a superfan of all of them, and we ended up with the weirdest, craziest band ever. It just became this awesome misfit party.”


Co-produced by Atkins and Alabama Shakes’ Ben Tanner, the 11-track album features co-writing credits from Carl Broemel of My Morning Jacket, and Hamilton Leithauser as well as Daniel and Sclavunos. One of Broemel’s co-writes, “Captain” featuring Britt Daniel can be heard in the video below:


Italian Ice Tracklist

  1. Am Gold
  2. Mind Eraser
  3. Domino
  4. Forever
  5. Captain (feat. Britt Daniel)
  6. Never Going Home Again
  7. St. Dymphna
  8. Far from Home
  9. A Road to Nowhere
  10. These Old Roses
  11. In the Splinters