Neil Young Details ‘Return To Greendale’ Live Album & Concert Film


Neil Young will release the live album/concert film Return To Greendale via Reprise Records on November 6. The audio/video set documents Neil Young & Crazy Horse‘s 2003 stop in Toronto during a tour in support of their Greendale concept album.

Return To Greendale is due in a variety of formats. A limited-edition box set contains video of the full concert on Blu-Ray plus two LPs and CDs as well as the Inside Greendale documentary on DVD. Additionally, Return To Greendale will be available on vinyl, as a two-CD set and digitally via Neil Young Archives.


Young directed the concert film and documentary under his Bernard Shakey pseudonym with L.A. Johnson handling production duties. Read more on Return To Greendale via press materials announcing the set:

The story of Greendale follows multiple generations of the Green family as they go about their lives in a fictional California town. Through the perspectives of multiple characters—Grandma, Grandpa, Edith, Earl, the doomed Jed, and eco-warrior Sun Green, among them—Young tells a poignant story about small-town America and the need for immediate action to save the environment. That need, of course, has only become more urgent. On Return to Greendale, the 10 songs from Young’s powerful original album are performed in sequence, with a cast of actors speaking the sung words, adding to the already blistering intensity of the performance.

Return To Greendale, the concert film, premiered earlier this year in San Francisco.


Return To Greendale Audio & Blu-Ray Tracklist

  1. Falling from Above
  2. Double E
  3. Devil’s Sidewalk
  4. Leave the Driving
  5. Carmichael
  6. Bandit
  7. Grandpa’s Interview
  8. Bringin’ Down Dinner
  9. Sun Green
  10. Be the Rain
  • Neil Young Confirms ‘Archives Volume II: 1972 - 1976’ Tracklist

    Neil Young Confirms ‘Archives Volume II: 1972 - 1976’ Tracklist

    Neil Young detailed the tracklist for his massive forthcoming ‘Archives Volume II: 1972 – 1976’ box set.