Neil Young & Promise Of The Real Offer Bust Out & Debut In Indianapolis

By Nate Todd Sep 20, 2019 10:00 am PDT

Neil Young and Promise of The Real played a one-off concert at the Murat Theater at Old National Centre in Indianapolis on Thursday night. Young would debut a couple of tunes in the POTR format including “My Heart,” which Neil hadn’t performed live in nearly 25 years, as well as “New Mama.”

Young kicked off the show with a short solo section that included “After The Goldrush” and “Sugar Mountain.” POTR would then join Young on “Country Home,” “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere,” “The Losing End” and “Are You Ready For The Country.” Next up, Neil And POTR would debut “My Heart,” a song that Young had not performed since 1995. Neil Young And Promise Of The Real then debuted “New Mama,” a tune Young recently dusted off at Harvest Moon A Gathering the weekend before. Up until that point, Neil had not performed the song in over 40 years.

The band would continue on with “Don’t Cry No Tears,” “Words (Between The Lines Of Age),” “Ohio,” “Like An Inca,” and “Fuckin’ Up.” Young then turned lead vocal duties over to the Nelson brothers for a couple of covers with Lukas Nelson singing and playing piano on Kurt Weill’s “September Song,” a tune Young And POTR hadn’t played since 2015. Mikah Nelson then handled lead vocals for Particle Kid’s “Everything Is Bullshit.” “Like A Hurricane” would follow ahead of the set closer “Throw Your Hatred Down.”

Young and POTR would reemerge for a three-song encore of “Don’t Be Denied,” “Roll Another Number (For The Road)” and “Mr. Soul.” Check out video of “New Mama” and “Ohio” below:

New Mama via B R

Ohio via John Manley


Neil Young + Promise of the Real at Murat Theatre

  • After the Gold Rush  
  • Sugar Mountain  
  • Country Home  
  • Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere  
  • The Losing End  
  • Are You Ready for the Country?  
  • My Heart  
  • New Mama  
  • Don't Cry No Tears  
  • Words (Between the Lines of Age)  
  • Ohio  
  • Like an Inca  
  • Fuckin' Up  
  • September Song  
  • Everything Is Bullshit  
  • Like a Hurricane  
  • Throw Your Hatred Down  
  • Don't Be Denied  
  • Roll Another Number (For the Road)  
  • Mr. Soul  

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections