My Morning Jacket Announces New Album ‘The Waterfall II’

By Scott Bernstein Jul 7, 2020 8:02 am PDT

My Morning Jacket will release the “lost” studio album The Waterfall II via ATO Records digitally this Friday, July 10 with physical editions coming on August 28. The band recorded the 10-track LP at Panoramic House in Stinson Beach, California at the same time as The Waterfall, which came out in 2015. My Morning Jacket will premiere The Waterfall II with a listening party on Thursday, July 9 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

Frontman Jim James first revealed the existence of a second album during a November 2014 interview with Rolling Stone. A more recent confirmation MMJ recorded two albums worth of material as part of The Waterfall sessions came via an appearance on the Celebration Rock podcast in 2018.

“Listening, remember one thing: this is not a B-side album. These are not songs that we didn’t like as much as the ones that appeared on The Waterfall,” James said in an announcement of the “new” LP. “In fact, these are the E and F sides of a set of 3 albums including The Waterfall and The Waterfall II. It’s just the second half of a long snapshot of my life as an author until 2014, and of our group life when we lived and worked in this magical place that is Stinson Beach in California, and its surroundings, during these recording sessions, at a time of great creativity, joy, love, agony and sadness.”

My Morning Jacket will be the musical guest on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon next Wednesday, July 15. Check out The Waterfall II album listening party on Thursday below:

The Waterfall II Tracklist

  1. Spinning My Wheels
  2. Still Thinkin’
  3. Climbing The Ladder
  4. Feel You
  5. Beautiful Love (Wasn’t Enough)
  6. Magic Bullet
  7. Run It
  8. Wasted
  9. Welcome Home
  10. The First Time
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections