My Morning Jacket Debuts ‘Out Of Range, Pt. 2’ In Huntsville

Watch the band unveil the track from their self-titled 2021 album live for the first time.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 27, 2022 9:01 am PDT

My Morning Jacket worked the live premiere of “Out Of Range, Pt. 2” from their self-titled 2021 studio album into the setlist on Saturday night in Huntsville, Alabama. The live debut came towards the end of the band’s main set at The Orion Amphitheater.

“Out Of Range, Pt. 2” was one of four songs from My Morning Jacket played by the quintet at the recently opened venue in Huntsville. “The Devil’s In The Details” is now the only tune off the LP yet to see action live. Frontman Jim James provided powerful vocals on the debut and engaged guitarist Carl Broemel for dual leads on “Out Of Range, Pt. 2.” The premiere came to a majestic conclusion before the band lit into The Waterfall gem “Compound Fracture.”

Watch fan-shot video of “Out Of Range, Pt. 2” and the ensuing “Compound Fracture” below:

My Morning Jacket (See 112 videos)

My Morning Jacket began the 19-song concert in Huntsville with the anthemic “Wordless Chorus.” Both the opener and the “Off The Record” that followed come from the band’s 2005 LP, Z. The five-piece then played My Morning Jacket cut “Penny For Your Thoughts” before looking to The Waterfall for “Spring (Among The Living).” From there, MMJ went heavy on classics such as “Mahgeetah,” “Circuital,” “Honest Man” and “Steam Engine” ahead of the aforementioned “Out Of Range, Pt. 2.”

It was back to My Morning Jacket for “Love Love Love” after “Compound Fracture.” A rousing version of Z chestnut “Anytime” then led into a set-closing “Touch Me I’m Going To Scream Pt. 2.” James, Broemel, bassist Tom Blankenship, drummer Patrick Hallahan and keyboardist Bo Koster kicked off Saturday’s encore with My Morning Jacket lead single “Regularly Scheduled Programming.” A take on “Wasted” from The Waterfall II paved the way for the beloved “One Big Holiday” to cap My Morning Jacket’s night in Huntsville.

Stream an audience recording of Saturday’s concert taped by NSL:

Loading tour dates


My Morning Jacket at The Orion Amphitheater

  • Wordless Chorus
  • Off the Record
  • Penny for Your Thoughts
  • Spring (Among the Living)
  • Mahgeetah
  • Feel You
  • The Way That He Sings
  • Circuital
  • First Light
  • Honest Man
  • Steam Engine
  • Out of Range, Pt. 2  
  • Compound Fracture
  • Love Love Love
  • Anytime
  • Touch Me I'm Going to Scream Pt. 2
  • Regularly Scheduled Programming
  • Wasted
  • One Big Holiday
  • My Morning Jacket Announces Vinyl Series Release ‘MMJ Live Vol 2: Chicago 2021’

    My Morning Jacket Announces Vinyl Series Release ‘MMJ Live Vol 2: Chicago 2021’ 

  • My Morning Jacket Performs Motown Covers Near Detroit

    My Morning Jacket Performs Motown Covers Near Detroit 

  • My Morning Jacket Colorado Run 2022: Recap, Photos & Audio

    My Morning Jacket Colorado Run 2022: Recap, Photos & Audio 

JamBase Collections