The Mountain Goats Announce New Album ‘Dark In Here’ & Share Single

By Scott Bernstein Apr 19, 2021 7:33 am PDT

The Mountain Goats assembled at the legendary FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama to record a new album. Dark In Here arrives via Merge Records on June 25 and features lead single “Mobile.”

The 12-track LP was laid down at FAME in March 2020 with producer/engineer Matt Ross-Spang shortly after the sessions at Sam Phillips Recording in Memphis that yielded the Mountain Goats’ 2020 LP, Getting Into Knives. Frontman John Darnielle announced Dark In Here during last night’s installment of the band’s “Jordan Lake Sessions” livestream series. He described the upcoming album as the “weathered, gnarlier cousin to Getting Into Knives.”

The Mountain Goats were joined by acclaimed Muscle Shoals-based session musicians Spooner Oldham (Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Linda Ronstadt) on electric piano and Will McFarlane (Bonnie Raitt, Tammy Wynette) on lead guitar for “Mobile.” Bassist Peter Hughes shared the following about the experience of recording with Oldham and McFarlane and his take on Darnielle’s lyrics for “Mobile”:

The Mountain Goats have been playing together as a band long enough to have developed a degree of musical telepathy, but listening to these two guys responding in real time to us and each other revealed another level of connectedness altogether, one bordering on the supernatural. We ran through most of these songs three times; I’m pretty sure the performance of “Mobile” you’re hearing is a second take.

One of my quarantine projects after getting home was going back to Moby Dick and actually finishing it for once, and I was amused to encounter early on the retelling of the story of Jonah. If Melville gives it to us as a fiery 19th century New Bedford sermon, what “Mobile” offers might be understood as Father Mapple’s modern-day Gulf Coast flip side, the breeziness of McFarlane’s electric guitar and Matt Douglas’ accordion belying its protagonist’s guilty conscience.

Stream “Mobile” below:

Dark In Here Tracklist

  1. Parisian Enclave
  2. The Destruction Of The Kola Superdeep Borehole Tower
  3. Mobile
  4. Dark In Here
  5. Lizard Suit
  6. When A Powerful Animal Comes
  7. To The Headless Horsemen
  8. The New Hydra Collection
  9. The Slow Parts On Death Metal Albums
  10. Before I Got There
  11. Arguing With the Ghost of Peter Laughner About His Coney Island Baby Review
  12. Let Me Bathe In Demonic Light
JamBase Collections