The Mountain Goats Announce New Album ‘Getting Into Knives’ & Share Single


The Mountain Goats will release a new album entitled Getting Into Knives on October 23 through Merge Records. The band shared a lyric video for the album’s lead single, “As Many Candles As Possible,” featuring Al Green’s organist Charles Hodges.

Matt Ross-Spang, who engineered The Mountain Goats’ 2019 album In League With Dragons, suggested the band tour the Sam Phillips Recording in Memphis. The visit resulted in the band recording Getting Into Knives at the historic studio with Ross-Spang engineering and producing as well. The weeklong sessions utilized “magic” microphones once used by The Nashville Network.

Though written years ago, frontman John Darnielle sings “Everything becomes a blur from six feet away,” on the track “Tidal Wave,” which is one of 13 new songs on Getting Into Knives.

“With the album, you either slam the door shut or you open on to the next path,” Darnielle stated. “The trick is to sew up an ending, but at the same time open the doors to the theater and let the sunlight in.”

The lyric video for the album’s lead single, “As Many Candles As Possible,” can be viewed below:

Getting Into Knives Tracklist

  1. Corsican Mastiff Stride
  2. Get Famous
  3. Picture of My Dress
  4. As Many Candles As Possible
  5. Tidal Wave
  6. Pez Dorado
  7. The Last Place I Saw You Alive
  8. Bell Swamp Connection
  9. The Great Gold Sheep
  10. Rat Queen
  11. Wolf Count
  12. Harbor Me
  13. Getting Into Knives
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive