Lucinda Williams Joins Margo Price At Empty Brooklyn Bowl Nashville


Margo Price was joined by Lucinda Williams onstage last night at empty Brooklyn Bowl Nashville. The collaboration featured the pair of singer-songwriters performing two of Williams’ songs.

Price’s setlist on Thursday differed from her show on Wednesday at Brooklyn Bowl Nashville, evident from the opening selection of “Hands Of Time” from Price’s 2016 debut album, Midwest Farmer’s Daughter. Next came “Stone Me” from her 2020 album That’s How Rumors Get Started, which was followed by that record’s title track. Price stayed with tracks from the new album, progressing through “Heartless Mind,” a new arrangement of “Letting Me Down” and “Twinkle Twinkle.”


Price then led her band, which included her multi-instrumentalist husband Jeremy Ivey, through a cover of Janis Joplin’s “Move On.” Following takes on “Paper Cowboy” with Price hopping on a second drum kit and “World’s Greatest Loser,” performed as a trio with backing vocalists Nicki Bluhm and Ashley Wilcoxson and Price on keyboard, Price and Ivey dueted on the title track to the latter’s solo album The Dream And The Dreamer.

The set continued with the full band playing the title track to Price’s 2017 sophomore album, All American Made. An outtake from the That’s How Rumors Get Started, “Long Live the King,” came ahead of Price bringing “Lucinda Fucking Williams” to the Brooklyn Bowl stage.


Williams played electric guitar while leading a performance of “Joy” from her outstanding 1998 album, Car Wheels On A Gravel Road. “This is like the one good thing that’s happened to me in 2020,” Price quipped. “This is the first time I’ve been on stage holding a guitar singing like this since March,” Williams added.

Williams then led Price and her band through “You Can’t Rule Me,” the opening track off Williams’ excellent 2020 album, Good Souls Better Angels. After Williams’ sit-in, Price filled out the set with the Midwest Farmer’s Daughter cut “Four Years of Chances,” a cover of Dee Dee Warwick/Linda Ronstadt’s “You’re No Good” and a closing run through “Hey Child” from That’s How Rumors Get Started sung by Price from the dancefloor.


Watch the first four songs from Thursday’s livestream of Margo Price concert at Brooklyn Bowl Nashville below:

Relix (See 1,555 videos)
Margo Price (See 74 videos)


Margo Price at Brooklyn Bowl Nashville

  • Hands of Time
  • Stone Me
  • That’s How Rumors Get Started
  • Heartless Mind
  • Letting Me Down
  • Twinkle Twinkle
  • Move Over  
  • Paper Cowboy
  • World's Greatest Loser
  • The Dream and the Dreamer  
  • All American Made
  • What Happened to Our Love?
  • Long Live the King
  • Joy  
  • You Can't Rule Me  
  • Four Years of Chances
  • You're No Good  
  • Hey Child
  • The JamBase Podcast: Lucinda Williams

    The JamBase Podcast: Lucinda Williams 

  • Margo Price Releases ‘Letting Me Down (Downer Version)’ Video

    Margo Price Releases ‘Letting Me Down (Downer Version)’ Video 

  • Lucinda Williams, Steve Earle, John Medeski, Jack DeJohnette & More Cover Bob Dylan's 'Highway 61 Revisited'

    Lucinda Williams, Steve Earle, John Medeski, Jack DeJohnette & More Cover Bob Dylan's 'Highway 61 Revisited' 

  • Margo Price Covers ‘WAP’ On ‘The Daily Show’

    Margo Price Covers ‘WAP’ On ‘The Daily Show’