Marcus Mumford Shares ‘Cannibal’ Single From ‘(self-titled)’ Solo Album Featuring Brandi Carlile, Phoebe Bridgers & More

Watch the video for the opening track and lead single from the Mumford & Sons frontman’s upcoming debut solo album.

By Scott Bernstein Jul 14, 2022 9:44 am PDT

Marcus Mumford will release his debut solo album, (self-titled), featuring guest appearances from Brandi Carlile, Phoebe Bridgers, Clairo and Monica Martin via Capitol Records on September 16. The Mumford & Sons co-founder previewed the 10-track LP by issuing its lead single and opening track, “Cannibal.”

Produced by Blake Mills, Marcus Mumford recently shared a note regarding (self-titled) and the new song. “In January 2021, facing demons I danced with for a long time in isolation, I wrote a song called ‘Cannibal,'” explained Marcus. “I took it to my friend Blake Mills, and we began the process of making this album, dear to my heart, called (self-titled).” Mumford went on to reveal its release date and featured guests.

“Cannibal” arrived with an accompanying video. Watch Marcus Mumford’s “Cannibal” visual below:

Ted Dwane and Ben Lovett penned a note supporting their Mumford & Sons bandmate on his solo endeavor. The pair mentioned that while they look forward to the “next chapter of Mumford & Sons” they for now “hope you can enjoy this person, our friend, being a human being.” See the full statement below:

Loading tour dates

(self-titled) Tracklist

  1. Cannibal
  2. Grace
  3. Prior Warning
  4. Better Off High
  5. Only Child
  6. Dangerous Game (ft. Clairo)
  7. Better Angels
  8. Go In Light (ft. Monica Martin)
  9. Stonecatcher (ft. Phoebe Bridgers)
  10. How (ft. Brandi Carlile)
JamBase Collections