Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Announce New Album & Share 3 Songs

Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real will release a self-titled studio album featuring 12 songs written by Lukas on August 25 via Fantasy Records. The LP shows off the band’s six-piece lineup of Lukas Nelson (guitar, vocals), Tato Melgar (percussion), Anthony LoGerfo (drums), Corey McCormick (bass, vocals) along with new members Jesse Siebenberg (steel guitars, Farfisa organ, vocals) and Alberto Bof (piano, Wurlitzer, B3).

Jess Wolfe and Holly Lessig of Lucius contribute backing vocals to five tunes, while Lady Gaga sings on two tunes and one song features a guitar solo from proud papa Willie Nelson and a piano solo from Lukas’s Aunt Bobbi.

The group spent the better part of 2015 and 2016 touring as Neil Young’s band and Neil’s influence is said to come through on the new tracks. “I knew I had a lot of good songs that transcended the cultural boundaries between rock & roll and country,” Lukas said of his vision for the album in a press release. “We owe a lot to Neil; we made this record after coming off the road with him for two years. Neil’s been mentoring us, and we’ve been absorbing that energy, and I think it shows. We got acclimated to a different level of artistic expression. I wanted to get the songs as pure as they could be. We’ve grown.”

John Alagia (DMB, John Mayer) produced the new album which was recorded at The Village Studios in Los Angeles. Lady Gaga added backing vocals to “Carolina” and “Find Yourself,” while Lukas’s dad and aunt appear on “Just Outside Of Austin.” Nelson has unveiled three songs from the LP including “Find Yourself.” Pre-order exclusive bundles and experiential offerings are available via PledgeMusic.

Listen to “Find Yourself,” “Forget About Georgia” and “Set Me Down On A Cloud” via Rolling Stone:

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Tracklist

  1. Set Me Down On A Cloud
  2. Die Alone
  3. Fool Me Once
  4. Just Outside Of Austin
  5. Carolina
  6. Runnin’ Shine
  7. Find Yourself
  8. Four Letter Word
  9. High Times
  10. Breath Of My Baby
  11. Forget About Georgia
  12. If I Started Over

Tour Dates for
Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real