King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Share Surprise New Album ‘Sketches of Brunswick East’

By Andy Kahn Aug 18, 2017 7:50 am PDT

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have issued a new album entitled Sketches Of Brunswick East via ATO Records. The surprise release was recorded in collaboration with Mild High Club and is currently available via digital download and streaming.

The third King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard album released in 2017 follows the previously issued Flying Microtonal Banana and Murder Of The Universe. The band earlier revealed plans to put out a total of five albums this year.

Described as “a jazz and Tropicalia infused collaboration” that “is a soothing balm of a record, a chance to get to know King Gizzard’s sunny, playful side. Where previous albums have slipped down sonic worm-holes to explore distant galaxies, this one is an examination of (and homage to) the Melbourne suburb in which King Gizzard write and record in their own studio, and from where they run their planet-spanning psychedelic operation.”

Lead singer Stu Mackenzie further explained the inspiration behind the album, whose title is an homage to Miles Davis’s Sketches of Spain:

We’re always walking up and down the street all the time. Going to get coffee, lugging amps, just constantly wandering Lygon Street and spending a lot of time looking out into the distance, seeing the terrain change as new apartment buildings are erected, watching the cranes build bigger cranes. In that respect, perhaps it represents greater changes that are happening in the wider world, and this is our attempt to find beauty within a place that we spend so much time … We don’t expect everyone to like everything that we release, but I hope people can view these five records as one body of work. They’ve been made at the same time, by the same people, in the same place, and they all overlap.

Physical editions of Sketches Of Brunswick East will ship in October. Stream the album below:

Sketches Of Brunswick East Tracklist

  1. Sketches Of Brunswick East I
  2. Countdown
  3. D-Day
  4. Tezeta
  5. Cranes, Planes, Migraines
  6. The Spider And Me
  7. Sketches Of Brunswick East II
  8. Dusk To Dawn On Lygon Street
  9. The Book
  10. A Journey To (S)hell
  11. Rolling Stoned
  12. You Can Be Your Silhouette
  13. Sketches Of Brunswick East III
JamBase Collections