John Prine Announces New Album ‘The Tree Of Forgiveness’ & Shares Single


Renowned singer-songwriter John Prine will release a new album entitled The Tree of Forgiveness via his Oh Boy Records label on April 13. The 71-year-old will tour in support of the record, which features the lead single “Summer’s End.”

Prine recorded The Tree of Forgiveness near his Nashville home at the historic RCA Studio A. Producer Dave Cobb was enlisted for Prine’s first record of new material in over 13 years.

The 10 new songs on the album were written by Prine, with co-writing credits going to Dan Auerbach, Pat McLaughlin, Roger Cook, Keith Sykes and Phil Spector. Contributors to the album included Cobb and members of Prine’s longtime backing band, as well as Jason Isbell, Amanda Shires and Brandi Carlile. Prine will answer questions about the album during a Facebook Live session taking place today [Thursday, February 8] at 3:30 p.m. CT.

Prine will spend much of 2018 touring in support of the new album, including a co-headlining engagement at Radio City Music Hall in New York City with Sturgill Simpson on the day the record is released. Other dates will find Prine supported by Kurt Vile, Margo Price, Amanda Shires, Milk Carton Kids, John Paul White, John Moreland and others. Tickets purchased for the upcoming shows will come with a CD copy of The Tree Of Forgiveness.

Pre-order The Tree Of Forgiveness here. Watch the lyric video for “Summer’s End” below:

The Tree Of Forgiveness Tracklist

  1. Knockin’ On Your Screen Door
  2. I Have Met My Love Today (ft. Brandi Carlile)
  3. Egg & Daughter Nite, Lincoln Nebraska, 1967 (Crazy Bone)
  4. Summer’s End
  5. Caravan of Fools
  6. The Lonesome Friends of Science
  7. No Ordinary Blue
  8. Boundless Love
  9. God Only Knows
  10. When I Get to Heaven